Subject Guides: Chef Training: Websites

Industry

Food Standards Australia and New Zealand
This bi-national Government agency develops and administers the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code, which lists requirements for foods such as additives, food safety, labelling and GM foods.
Hospitality Hub - Heart Foundation
These pages provide information, resources and tools relevant to all food service sectors which will help with the development of healthy foods

Image: Ara Institute of Canterbury Ltd

Hospitality New Zealand
Covers industry news, events, issues and a job board.
New Zealand Chefs Association
Latest news and events from the culinary industry. Includes job adverts.
Restaurant Association of New Zealand
Events, news and handy links to resources for those running a restaurant i.e. sample written references.
Unit Operations in Food Processing
This is the free web edition of a popular textbook known for its simple approach to food processing. First published in 1966 but still relevant today, Unit Operations in Food Processing explains the principles of operations and illustrates them by individual processes.

YouTube Cooking Collections!

All recipes
"We are on a mission to help cooks of all interests and skill sets discover, and share in, the thrill of home cooking"
Food wishes
Welcome to YouTube's favorite video recipe channel, starring YouTube's most popular chef, Chef John!!
Gordon Ramsay
The home of Gordon Ramsay on YouTube. Recipe tutorials, tips, techniques and the best bits from the archives.
Jamie Oliver
Beautiful recipes, expert tutorials, fresh talent, wonderful food and funny videos every week
Laura in the kitchen
Started in 2010. Now over a thousand recipes.
Sorted Food
A global movement of friends with an appetite for exploring the most incredible food experiences on the planet & cooking up utterly delectable dishes.
Tasty
Snack-sized videos and recipes you'll want to try.

Recipes and technique

Image: Ara Institute of Canterbury Ltd

Auckland Seafood School
Great local videos on how to work with fish.
BBC Food
Recipes and food inspiration from the BBC
Eat Well (formally Bite) New Zealand's home of Food
Bite is the New Zealand Herald's weekly food magazine. It offers recipes and kitchen tips contributed by some of New Zealand's most talented cooks and chefs.
Cuisine
Recipes and reviews from the popular New Zealand culinary magazine.
Delia Online
Recipes, menus and cooking inspiration from British cooking guru Delia Smith.
Dish
From the popular New Zealand magazine.
Edmonds Cookery Book
Well you couldn't leave Edmonds out!
Epicurious
An extensive range of recipes and articles on how to use certain ingredients and develop your cooking skills.
Healthy Food Guide
Recipes from the popular NZ cooking magazine.
Heart Foundation NZ
Some great YouTube videos on healthy NZ eating.
New Zealand Vegetarian Society
If looking for meat free meals for your menu then this is a great place to start.
Taste
A large collection of menu plans covering everything from an easy and impressive dinner party for eight to a cocktail party for 20.

Foodiesfeed - copyright free food images!

All photos published on Foodiesfeed are licensed under the Creative Commons Zero (CCO) license which means you can copy, modify, distribute and use the photos for free, including commercial purposes. However, we encourage giving credit to the original photographer if possible. A simple credit like ‘Photo by x’ with a link back to their Foodiesfeed profile is always appreciated.

Māori and cookery - Taurima

Traditional cooking and preserving
From Te Ara: The encyclopedia of New Zealand
Food and Māori tradition
From Te Ara : The encyclopedia of New Zealand
Māori Television - Cooking shows On Demand
Contains links to cooking shows many of which show traditional Māori cooking techniques.
Traditional Māori kai
Photos, videos, and information from Christchurch City Libraries.
Marae food safety
Find out about food safety on the marae, food safety when hunting and gathering, and how to safely prepare a hāngi.

Menu Collections

Culinary Institute of America
The Culinary Institute of America's special collection of over 30,000 menus.
Los Angeles Public Library menu collection
A database of menus from Los Angeles, other cities, steamships, airlines and banquets.
Royal Menus
This website shares a private collection of original menus from banquets hosted by Emperors, Kings and Queens throughout history.
University of Washington's Menu Collection
This collection represents menus, placemats and other graphic materials from many Puget Sound area's most famous restaurants and dining facilities in the years between 1889 and 2003.
What's on the menu?
A collection of over 17,000 menus digitally scanned and described by the New York Public Library. You can search by time and period of dish.

Chef Training: Websites

Be critical... evaluate your resources!