Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
library logo banner

Research: Resources

A centralised repository of information to help those undertaking research especially at Postgraduate level

Introduction

There is a huge array of information sources in our networked World. Using resources already provided by Ara is a great place to start with your research. Never forget the power of your library and librarian! 

Sage Research Methods: Foundations - New database!

A great way to kick-start your research journey is to look at the list of Foundation Entries. These give introductory overviews to major research methods, covering their history, development and critical debates surrounding them. 

Choose the Foundation Entry most relevant to the method you want to learn about and you will be directed to what read next.

Find New Zealand and Ara research

Guides To Using Ara Databases

  • Find an article in a database (EBSCO) [PDF] [Video]
  • Find a Standard in Standards New Zealand database [PDF]
  • How to access O'Reilly eBooks [formerly Safari eBooks] [PDF]
  • Template example for search strategies to use in databases [PDF]
  • Using Gale Academic OneFile database [PDF]
  • Using eTV [PDF]
  • Using Proquest Central database [PDF]
  • Using Joanna Briggs database [Video]
  • Using Ovid nursing database [PDF] 
  • Using Pubmed [Video]
  • Using Pubmed, CINAHL, Proquest & Ovid to find MeSH headings [PDF]
  • Using Science Direct database [PDF]
  • Using LinkedIn Learning [PDF]
  • What is a peer-reviewed article [PDF]
  • Using Google Scholar and more [PDF]
  • What are primary and secondary sources [PDF]
  • Troubleshooting access to databases [PDF]

What are primary and secondary sources?

Primary vs Secondary Sources

Books and eBooks

Free Online Course

Using Library Search

You can see all our Library video tutorials in our blog.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. With it you can:

  • Search all scholarly literature from one convenient place
  • Explore related works, citations, authors, and publications
  • Locate the complete document through your library or on the web
  • Keep up with recent developments in any area of research
  • Check who's citing your publications, create a public author profile

How to use Google Scholar - PDF from Ara 

Photo by Marten Newhall on Unsplash