Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research: Interloans

A centralised repository of information to help those undertaking research especially at Postgraduate level

Introduction

This tab outlines what an interloan is, how to request one, and what information you will need to provide. 

What is an interloan?

When Ara library does not have the book or article that you are looking for, we can request it on your behalf from another library. This is called an interlibrary loan request. 

The interloan service is available for current staff and students to support their Ara related research, study or teaching requirements.

Please note if you require an item for long term you can make a recommendation for the library to purchase the item for its collection.

Photo by Andrey Larin on Unsplash

How do I request an interloan?

Image: Pixabay

Email docsupply@ara.ac.nz for resources you can’t find. The Library can usually get the resource free of charge for you from another library. This service can take over a week.

Before submitting your request make sure you have used the guidelines to Find a journal article in my reading list to check if you can find the journal title and then the article in our collection.  Remember to enter the journal title (not the article title) under Search books and more.

What information do I need to provide and how?

When submitting your request to docsupply@ara.ac.nz please supply the following details:

  • Your name and student ID number
  • Your course code

And ensure your citation includes:

  • The title of your article
  • Author
  • Date of publication
  • Journal title
  • Volume and issue number
  • Page number

It’s a good idea to send the full APA citation, DOI link  or other permalink to the article.

Here’s how to find the citation in common databases:

EBSCOhost databases – Look for Cite or Permalink in the right column.

Gale databases – Look for Citation tools in the right column

Pubmed - Use the  URL in the address bar

Science Direct – Use the  URL in the address bar (Do not use this method for Gale or EBSCO databases as the URL bar only contains session links which will time out.)

Google Scholar articles – Use the  URL in the address bar