Subject Guides: Osteopathy/Musculoskeletal health: Articles/Databases

Osteopathy Journals @ Ara Library

American Academy of Osteopathy Journal
Note that the current 12 months are not available in full text. Contact the library to interloan for free any articles that are not in full text.
International Journal of Osteopathic Medicine
Journal of Manipulative and Physiological Therapeutics
Journal of Osteopathic Medicine (JOM)

Thesis Collections on Osteopathy

Unitec Theses
Over 270 theses on osteopathy.
NZ Research Theses
Over 150 theses on osteopathy from New Zealand tertiary institutes.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

Britannica Academic
The online version of the famous and trustworthy encyclopedia. Contains articles, images, videos, biographies, statistics, and an interactive atlas. Great source of primary sources.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language.

Recommended databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. From engineering, arts and literature, to sciences.
Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre Plus (EBSCO)
Contains full-text AU/NZ magazines, and newspapers, including the Australian Financial Review. Also contains local biographies, reference books, and an image and video collection.
CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCO)
CINAHL stands for Cumulative Index of Nursing & Allied Health Literature. It provides the largest database of content on nursing and allied health subjects including Evidence-based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons for overviews of major topics e.g. diabetes.
Medline Complete (EBSCO)
Covers an extensive range of subjects including biomedicine, pre-clinical science, health policy development and much more.
Dynamed (EBSCO)
DynaMed is an evidence-based, primary care database designed to provide the most useful point-of-care health information available. Includes peer-reviewed disease summaries.
Gale - Power Search
Search across all GaleOneFile, Gale In Context and Gale ebooks databases at the same time.
Semantic Scholar
This search engine uses artificial intelligence to analyze and understand scholarly literature. With strength in computer science and health sciences, it also delivers useful results for Māori and Pacific topics. If the article is not in full text, copy the article title into Ara's "Library Search" and select the "Journal Articles" option to see if it is in an Ara database. Contact the Library if you need more help.

Gale Interactive: Chemistry
An interactive database to help you explore, understand and enjoy chemistry.
Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy
Explore human anatomy by manipulating 3D models by zooming, rotating, and pulling them apart. Accompanied by reference and periodical material.
Gale Interactive: Science
Allows you to bring science to life. Quality information is paired with 3D models that allow you to visualize concepts in biology, chemistry, earth science and human anatomy.

JBI (formerly Joanna Briggs Institute)
Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and Best Practice Information Sheets for nursing and the allied health professions
Lippincott Advisor
Evidence-based content for nurses, including diseases, ANZ drugs information, diagnostic tests, treatments, signs and symptoms, and nursing care plans. Written by nurses. Use this link for off campus access if you have not set up the Lippincott App on your phone while on campus.

PEDro [Free]
Physiotherapy evidence database was established in 1999 by physiotherapists, both clinicians and academics. It is now based in the Institute for Musculoskeletal Health at the University of Sydney and Sydney Local Health District.

ProQuest Central
The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations and case studies. Choose to filter your search by clicking on the "Books" tab to find only ebooks on your topic.
PubMed
If you find an article that is not in full text, copy and paste the title of the journal article into Library Search to see if it is available in an Ara Library database. If it is not available then paste the Pubmed link into an Ask Live chat or email library@ara.ac.nz and a staff member will be able to assist further.
ScienceDirect
Includes selected health & life science, as well as physical science titles.
SPORTDiscus (EBSCO)
Content areas range from sports physiology and sports psychology to physical education and recreation.

All Library Databases
This link will bring you to a page with ALL of Ara's subscribed databases. Ask a librarian for help with choosing one if you need guidance!