Subject Guides: Māori Language: Articles/Databases

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

The Complete English Māori Dictionary by Bruce Biggs
ISBN: 9781775586388

Publication Date: 2013

Ebook
Te aka : Māori-English, English-Māori dictionary and index by Moorfield, J.
ISBN: 0582548365

Publication Date: 2005

Te Aka Māori dictionary
Compiled by John Moorfield.
Te Ara Encyclopedia
The online encyclopedia of New Zealand created by the New Zealand government.
Tregear, E. (1891) Māori - Polynesian comparative dictionary
An NZETC ebook
Williams (1957) A dictionary of the Māori language
An NZETC ebook

Open access journals

He Muka
He Muka is the quarterly newsletter of the Commission, incorporating the Commission's events, new terminology coined by the Commission and other important issues relating to the Māori language. The main objective is to provide a publication written entirely in Māori language of the highest quality, specifically targeted at fluent speakers.
Wharekura
Site provides full-text issues of Wharekura, a Maori language journal for schools.

Christchurch City Libraries Databases

Aotearoa New Zealand databases from Christchurch City Libraries

Join Christchurch City Libraries and choose "Digital Only Membership" for instant database access. This will give you 3 months access. After that you will need to visit any Christchurch City library. Click here for more information.

Recommended databases

Waka Kuaka: Journal of the Polynesian Society
Waka Kuaka is a peer-reviewed journal that features social, cultural, indigenous and historical research relating to the peoples of the Pacific including Māori and other Polynesian cultures.

All Library Databases
This link will bring you to a page with ALL of Ara's subscribed databases. Ask a librarian for help with choosing one if you need guidance!

Australia / New Zealand Points of View Reference Centre (EBSCO)
A rich resource for perspectives on contentious social, political, and technological issues.Topics range from the anti-smacking laws to water shortages. Each topic has an overview, a point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), with a guide to the critical analysis of each topic.
Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre Plus (EBSCO)
Contains full-text AU/NZ magazines, and newspapers, including the Australian Financial Review. Also contains local biographies, reference books, and an image and video collection.
eTV
eTV records and archives TV programmes for educational purposes. Use your Ara email address to activate the access to eTV. Tutors may embed eTV programmes within course pages.
Gale - Power Search
Search across all GaleOneFile, Gale In Context and Gale ebooks databases at the same time.
Waka Kuaka: Journal of the Polynesian Society
Waka Kuaka is a peer-reviewed journal that features social, cultural, indigenous and historical research relating to the peoples of the Pacific including Māori and other Polynesian cultures.
JSTOR
Freely available academic content on JSTOR and Artstor from open access ebooks, journals and public collections.
ProQuest Central
The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations and case studies. Choose to filter your search by clicking on the "Books" tab to find only ebooks on your topic.
Semantic Scholar
This search engine uses artificial intelligence to analyze and understand scholarly literature. With strength in computer science and health sciences, it also delivers useful results for Māori and Pacific topics. If the article is not in full text, copy the article title into Ara's "Library Search" and select the "Journal Articles" option to see if it is in an Ara database. Contact the Library if you need more help.
BWB Te Pouhere Kōrero Collection
Access the digitized ten volume journal Te Pouhere Kōrero – Māori History, Māori People, which focuses on Māori and Indigenous history.
BWB Treaty of Waitangi Collection
A collection of searchable eBooks from Bridget Williams on the Treaty of Waitangi. Books are written from leading thinkers on this foundation document.

Other sources

NZresearch.org.nz
This website is a gateway to the open-access research documents produced at universities, polytechnics, and other research institutions throughout New Zealand.
Papers Past
Papers Past contains more than two million pages of digitised New Zealand newspapers and periodicals. The collection covers the years 1839 to 1945 and includes 77 publications from all regions of New Zealand.
National Library
Searches many National Library resources at once including Index NZ, Papers Past, Timeframes, Find NZ articles and more.
Te Puna Search
Searches all the New Zealand libraries at once.
A to J's online
AtoJs Online contains a collection of digitised volumes of the Appendices to the Journals of the House of Representatives. The collection currently covers the years 1854 to 1945. Good source of historical Government information on Māori topics and iwi.
Christchurch City Libraries - Maori section
Find a wide range of resources here on tikanga Maori including access to the Maori Land Court Minute book for whakapapa research.
University of Canterbury research repository
Great resource for studies conducted in the Canterbury region.
Te Karaka
This is the journal of Ngai Tahu iwi.
Te Panui Runaka
The newsletter of Ngai Tahu iwi.
Niupepa Maori newspapers
These historic newspapers were published primarily for a Māori audience between 1842 and 1932.
Contemporary Maori and Pacific Islands
Good source of ebooks from NZETC.
Historical Māori and Pacific Islands
More ebooks from NZETC.

Other recommended sources

Archive of Māori and Pacific Sound
From Auckland University
Core CORE (COnnecting REpositories)
CORE provides a database of the world’s scholarly literature, including over 298 million scholarly resources. Try a search on "whanaungatanga" or kaupapa Māori.
Hansard Indexes
New Zealand Parliamentary Debates (also known as Hansard) is the official report of the proceedings of the House. See current research and debates at Parliament on your topic e.g. Māori health, reo Māori, etc.
Mai Journal : A NZ journal of indigenous scholarship
MAI Journal is an open access journal that publishes multidisciplinary peer-reviewed articles around indigenous knowledge and development in the context of Aotearoa New Zealand.It continues Mai Review which has ceased publication.
NZ Research
This website is a gateway to the open-access research documents produced at universities, polytechnics, and other research institutions throughout New Zealand.
NZETC
Good source for Māori information in eBooks.
Pataka raraunga: Find data for and about Māori
Improve Māori wellbeing through better, data-informed decisions. All data is from authoritative sources and is shared under Creative Commons Licence.
Sites: a journal of social anthropology and culture
A journal published by Otago University with Māori and Pasifika research articles.
Te Ao Hou
Te Ao Hou was published from 1952 to 1976 by the Māori Affairs Department in New Zealand Aotearoa.
Te Kaharoa
Te Kaharoa is a free-access, multi-disciplinary, refereed, e-journal focusing on indigenous Pacific issues. Includes research output from Ara kaiako - Hana O'Regan and Hemi Hoskins.

Guides To Using Ara Databases

Find an article in a database (EBSCO) [PDF] [Video]
Find a Standard in Standards New Zealand database [PDF]
How to access Vital Source ebooks [PDF]
Template example for search strategies to use in databases [PDF]
Using Gale Academic OneFile database [PDF]
Using eTV [PDF]
Using Proquest Central database [PDF]
Using Joanna Briggs database [Video]
Using Ovid nursing database [PDF]
Using Pubmed [Video]
Using Pubmed, CINAHL, Proquest & Ovid to find MeSH headings [PDF]
Using Science Direct database [PDF]
Using LinkedIn Learning [PDF]
What is a peer-reviewed article [PDF]
Using Google Scholar and more [PDF]
What are primary and secondary sources [PDF]
Troubleshooting access to databases [PDF]
Clearing your cache in Chrome, Edge, Safari and Firefox [Website]
How to I open O'Reilly eBooks off campus? [PDF]

Māori Language: Articles/Databases

Finding Journal Articles