Information skills: Gather your resources

Google Scholar is a good place to look if you can be specific about what you need.

Image by Alexandra_Koch from Pixabay

• Find an article in a database (EBSCO) [PDF] [Video]
• Find a Standard in Standards New Zealand database [PDF]
• How to access O'Reilly eBooks [formerly Safari eBooks] [PDF]
• How to access Vital Source ebooks [PDF]
• Template example for search strategies to use in databases [PDF]
• Using Gale Academic OneFile database [PDF]
• Using eTV [PDF]
• Using Proquest Central database [PDF]
• Using Joanna Briggs database [Video]
• Using Ovid nursing database [PDF] 
• Using Pubmed [Video]
• Using Pubmed, CINAHL, Proquest & Ovid to find MeSH headings [PDF]
• Using Science Direct database [PDF]
• Using LinkedIn Learning [PDF]
• What is a peer-reviewed article [PDF]
• Using Google Scholar and more [PDF]
• What are primary and secondary sources [PDF]
• Troubleshooting access to databases [PDF]
• Clearing your cache in Chrome, Edge, Safari and Firefox [Website]

How-To Information

Searching and Browsing

• Basic Search
• Advanced Search
• Applying Filters to Your Search
• Applying Search Modes
• Applying Expanders
• Managing Multiple Results
• Reading an Article
• Translating the User Interface
• Searching Publications
• Browsing Subjects
• Browsing CINAHL/MeSH Headings
• Combining Searches in your Search History

Using the Dashboard

• Using the Dashboard
• Creating a Personal Account
• Creating Projects
• Creating and Managing Journal Alerts
• Creating and Managing Search Alerts
• Saving Searches

Using the Tools

• Using the Bookmark Feature
• Sharing Articles and eBooks
• Printing EBSCO Full Text Articles
• Translating Online Full Text
• Using Text-to-Speech to read full text
• Using the Cite and Export Tool
• Saving articles to Google Drive
• Saving articles to Microsoft OneDrive

Note: Custom folders WILL CEASE TO EXIST in the new user interface (UI) in EBSCO 

Macalaster College outline the current changes including info for those using custom folders in the classic view which will cease in the new UI. See the New EBSCOhost User Interface - Get Help  

Popular EBSCO databases include:

• Academic Search complete
• Business Source Complete
• CINAHL Ultimate

Start your research by searching encyclopedias and dictionaries for definitions of key terms and background information.