Subject Guides: Information skills: For Teachers

Media and Information Literacy frameworks

ACRL Framework (2016)
Designed in the United States for higher education.
MILA Framework (2021)
Designed by CILIP the UK's library association, to support the government's latest Online Media Literacy Strategy.
Rauru whakarare framework
A kaupapa Māori framework for evaluating information sources.
SCONUL Seven Pillars of Information Literacy
Designed in the UK for higher education.
Te Whatu Aho Rau: Information Literacy Framework
A kaupapa Māori framework by Dr Angela Feekery

Research skills for postgraduate study (CC-BY-NC-4.0)

Doughty, C., Harvey, M., Quin, P., & Worthington, P. (2025). Research skills for postgraduate study. Victoria University of New Zealand.

This open access ebook by lecturers at Massey University includes chapters on:

Sage Research Methods: Foundations [Database]

Sage Research Methods : Foundations provides a concise introduction to methods and research terms for those who are new to research in general or to that particular method. The database offers a targeted list of entries to guide users through the content. The navigation menu puts the entry in context, so users can easily find more general topics related to a method or continue on to more specific sub-topics. Each entry will give users a general understanding of the topic and help them focus their search for additional content if they wish to dive deeper.

About AI for teachers

Guiding your AI journey: Essential resources
Published by JISC in the UK, Guiding Your AI Journey is a collection of resources to help educators with their efforts to work with AI. The resources have been pulled together in a more structured way to support different stages of AI maturity in order to to develop a dynamic web based easy-to-use toolkit that grows with your needs.
Use of Artificial Intelligence (AI) / ChatGPT in Assessments: Learner guideline
An Ara handout for ākonga.

General resources

Bull, Macmillan & Head (2020) Dismantling the evaluation framework
This paper presents alternatives to the CRAAP test for teaching information skills.
Caulfield, M. (2017). Web literacy for student fact-checkers
A Creative Commons ebook enabling the tailoring of content to course needs. Includes the SIFT method of evaluation -Stop, Investigate the source; Find better coverage; Trace claims. Examples include smart use of Wikipedia, using Google reverse image search, using Google Scholar to check author credentials, tracing viral photos upstream, deciding if expert or crank?, finding top authorities for a subject, using the waybackmachine to check page changes, using Google Books for quotes.
Check Please - an information evaluation course
Chunkable information evaluation activities are presented based on SIFT process - Stop, Investigate the source; Find better coverage; Trace claims. The course may be copied and modified by teachers
Reading Wikipedia in the Classroom
A booklet that includes a knowledge quest worksheet for learners and a marking rubric for tutors. A great way to embed information literacy in your course that can be customised to learners preferred topics.