Nursing: Articles/Databases

A selection of excellent Nursing resources to help you with your studies

Finding Journal Articles

There are three main ways to find the articles you need:

  • Search Ara Library databases for articles on your subject. 

(Use this method if you need to find your own articles for an assignment).

Find an article in a database [PDF] [Video]

  • Look for a particular article from a recommended reading list.

(Use this method if you already have a reading list with the details of an article, e.g. author, article title and Journal title).

Find an article in my reading list [PDF] [Video]

  • Use Google Scholar to find articles in Ara databases

(Use this method to find open access scholarly articles as well as articles in some Ara databases).

Using Google Scholar to find articles in Ara databases [PDF] [Video]

Nursing Journals @ Ara Library

Māori Health Review is a regular update that features the latest research in the Māori Health area.

Joanna Briggs Institute database

Recommended Databases

Searching CINAHL

Guides to search CINAHL effectively

Searching Pubmed

PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). All NIH articles are available in full text. For articles with no full text, search for the journal title in Primo Library Search to see if Ara own it or contact library@ara.ac.nz for help.  

Here are links to some interactive Pubmed video and print tutorials for effective searches:

Searching Science Direct

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

Quick APA Referencing for Nurses

Lippincott Procedures

For desktop computers, click on the logo above to access Lippincott Procedures. Use your Moodle / Ara network username and password if prompted.

Use these instruction to set up  on Apple, Android and Kindle Devices  - PDF

Ara Database and Information guides

Christchurch City Libraries Databases

Join Christchurch City Libraries and choose "Digital Only Membership" for instant database access. This will give you 3 months access. After that you will need to visit any Christchurch City library. Click here for more information.