library logo banner

Motor Industry Trades: How do I?

A selection of excellent Motor Industry Trades resources to help you with your studies.

Technical Assistance

Learning Services

Learning Services have a range of online resources to help you develop study and math skills to ensure you can complete coursework successfully. They also run weekly workshops and Quick Questions sessions. Call into the Library to pick up a timetable. There is also support for off campus students.

 

Image: Ara Institute of Canterbury

Endnote

EndNote is a software tool you use to manage bibliographies and references. It enables you to:

  • create your bibliographies in word-processing software such as Microsoft Word.
  • store all of your bibliographic references in your own private, searchable reference library.

How do I access EndNote?

Library overview - orientation to the EndNote 20 window.

Adding a new reference to your Library

Inserting a citation - insert a reference into Word

Editing a citation - customising the appearance of an intext citation.

Book a study room

Using Library Search

  • Using Library Search [PDF] [Video]
  • Using Library Search to find journal articles [PDF]
  • How to find an article in my reading list [PDF] [Video]
  • How to request an item [PDF] [Video]
  • How to access a Proquest eBook [PDF] [Video]
  • How to download a Proquest eBook to my own device [PDF]
  • How to renew items on loan [PDF] [Video]
  • How to pin items to your favourites using Library search [PDF]

 

You can see all our Library video tutorials in our blog.

Guides To Using Ara Databases

  • Find an article in a database (EBSCO) [PDF] [Video]
  • Find a Standard in Standards New Zealand database [PDF]
  • How to access O'Reilly eBooks [formerly Safari eBooks] [PDF]
  • How to access Vital Source ebooks [PDF]
  • Template example for search strategies to use in databases [PDF]
  • Using Gale Academic OneFile database [PDF]
  • Using eTV [PDF]
  • Using Proquest Central database [PDF]
  • Using Joanna Briggs database [Video]
  • Using Ovid nursing database [PDF] 
  • Using Pubmed [Video]
  • Using Pubmed, CINAHL, Proquest & Ovid to find MeSH headings [PDF]
  • Using Science Direct database [PDF]
  • Using LinkedIn Learning [PDF]
  • What is a peer-reviewed article [PDF]
  • Using Google Scholar and more [PDF]
  • What are primary and secondary sources [PDF]
  • Troubleshooting access to databases [PDF]

What do I need to know about AI?

Image by Alexandra_Koch from Pixabay

StudySmart resources

Find here a range of study support resources from Learning Services and Disability Services. You can access the full range of online support in StudySmart on My Ara. See the timetable  for Library and Learning Services quick questions and workshops.