Finding Journal Articles
There are three main ways to find the articles you need:
- Search Ara Library databases for articles on your subject. (Use this method to find your own articles for an assignment).
- Look for a particular article from a recommended reading list. (Use this method if you have a reading list with the details of an article, e.g. author, article/journal title).
Midwifery Journals @ Ara Library
- Australian & New Zealand Journal of Obstetrics & Gynaecology (ANZJOG)
Peer reviewed articles, published by the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists (RANZCOG). Indexed via CINAHL & Academic OneFile databases. - Birth: issues in perinatal care
A multidisciplinary, refereed quarterly covering issues and practices in the care of childbearing women, infants, and families. - BMC Pregnancy and Childbirth
Provides research articles in all aspects of pregnancy and childbirth. - International Journal of Childbirth
A peer-reviewed, quarterly journal publishing original research, reviews, and case studies concerned with the practice of midwifery, women's health, prenatal care, and the birth process. - New Zealand College of Midwives: Journal
Official publication of the NZ College of Midwives. Peer reviewed. Full text via Academic OneFile and Australia New Zealand Reference Centre databases. - Practising Midwife
Use the search box with simple keywords to find articles on your topic or browse by categories of Basics; Advancing Practice; Features or Evidence.
Recommended databases
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Includes selected health & life science, as well as physical science titles. - CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more. Includes full text for more than 1,200 journals. - ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations and case studies. Choose to filter your search by clicking on the "Books" tab to find only ebooks on your topic.
- Midirs Midwifery Digest
Online academic journal, Midwives Information and Resource Service Digest.
- Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text leading Australia/New Zealand magazines, and newspapers, including the Australian Financial Review. Also contains local biographies, reference books, and an image and video collection. - PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books - Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Library brings together in one place regularly updated evidence-based research which looks at the effectiveness of different health care treatments and interventions. - JBI (formerly Joanna Briggs Institute) This link opens in a new window
Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and Best Practice Information Sheets for nursing and the allied health professions - Ovid Nursing Database (Ovid Nursing Vocational Extended Journal Collection) This link opens in a new window
Access to over 45 full-text peer review nursing journals in one database. This database also allows you to search Joanna Briggs Institute at the same time if you wish. - Gale Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window
Provides information on a full range of health-related issue, including in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices.
- Gale Interactive: Chemistry
An interactive database to help you explore, understand and enjoy chemistry. - Gale Interactive: Human anatomy
Explore human anatomy by manipulating 3D models by zooming, rotating, and pulling them apart. Accompanied by reference and periodical material. - Gale Interactive: Science
Allows you to bring science to life. Quality information is paired with 3D models that allow you to visualize concepts in biology, chemistry, earth science and human anatomy. - All Library Databases
This link will bring you to a page with ALL of Ara's subscribed databases. Ask a librarian for help with choosing one if you need guidance!
Lippincott Procedures
For desktop computers, click on the logo above to access Lippincott Procedures. Use your Moodle / Ara network username and password if prompted.
Use these instruction to set up on Apple, Android and Kindle Devices - PDF
Access evidence-based content for nurses including diseases, diagnostic tests, treatments, signs and symptom s and nursing care plans. Written by nurses.
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides 24/7 access to top titles covering the most studied subject areas - Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
The online version of the famous and trustworthy encyclopedia. Contains articles, images, videos, biographies, statistics, and an interactive atlas. Great source of primary sources. - Oxford English Dictionary (OUP) This link opens in a new windowThe Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a good alternative place to look for academic articles.