Subject Guides: Medical Imaging: Articles/Databases

Medical Imaging Journals @ Ara Library

American Journal of Roentgenology - the world’s longest continuously published general radiology journal. AJR is recognized as among the specialty’s leading peer-reviewed journals and has a worldwide circulation of close to 25,000.

BJR: Open
BJR|Open is the new gold open access, online-only, international research journal published by the BIR. BJR covers the clinical and technical aspects of medical imaging, radiotherapy, radiation oncology, medical physics, radiobiology and the underpinning sciences.
Journal of Medical Imaging and Radiation Oncology
Top Cited Medical Imaging & Radiation Oncology Papers.
Journal of Medical Radiation Sciences
Accepts manuscripts related to medical imaging/diagnostic radiography, radiation therapy, nuclear medicine, medical ultrasound/sonography, and the complementary disciplines of medical physics, radiology, radiation oncology, nursing, psychology, and sociology.
Radiology
Radiology has long been recognized as the authoritative reference for the most current, clinically relevant, and highest quality research in the field of radiology.
Applied Radiology
Provides information for both radiologists and radiologic technologists in diagnostic radiology, radiation therapy, computed tomography, ultrasound, thermography, MRI and nuclear medicine.

Recommended databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. This database covers engineering, language and linguistics, education, history, arts and literature, biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion and theology
Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text leading Australia/New Zealand magazines, and newspapers, including the Australian Financial Review. Also contains local biographies, reference books, and an image and video collection.
CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL stands for Cumulative Index of Nursing & Allied Health Literature. It provides the largest database of content on nursing and allied health subjects including Evidence-based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons for overviews of major topics e.g. diabetes.

Gale Interactive: Chemistry
An interactive database to help you explore, understand and enjoy chemistry.
Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy
Explore human anatomy by manipulating 3D models by zooming, rotating, and pulling them apart. Accompanied by reference and periodical material.
Gale Interactive: Science
Allows you to bring science to life. Quality information is paired with 3D models that allow you to visualize concepts in biology, chemistry, earth science and human anatomy.

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations and case studies. Choose to filter your search by clicking on the "Books" tab to find only ebooks on your topic.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Includes selected health & life science, as well as physical science titles.
Scientific & Medical Art Imagebase (SMART Imagebase) (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Created by Nucleus Medical Art, SMART Imagebase contains a collection of high-quality illustrations and animations depicting anatomy, physiology, surgery, pathology, diseases, conditions, and other medical topics.
Semantic Scholar This link opens in a new window
This search engine uses artificial intelligence to analyze and understand scholarly literature. With strength in computer science and health sciences, it also delivers useful results for Māori and Pacific topics. If the article is not in full text, copy the article title into Ara's "Library Search" and select the "Journal Articles" option to see if it is in an Ara database. Contact the Library if you need more help.

All Library Databases
This link will bring you to a page with ALL of Ara's subscribed databases. Ask a librarian for help with choosing one if you need guidance!

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
The online version of the famous and trustworthy encyclopedia. Contains articles, images, videos, biographies, statistics, and an interactive atlas. Great source of primary sources.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language.

Guides To Using Ara Databases

Find an article in a database (EBSCO) [PDF] [Video]
Find a Standard in Standards New Zealand database [PDF]
How to access O'Reilly eBooks [formerly Safari eBooks] [PDF]
How to access Vital Source ebooks [PDF]
Template example for search strategies to use in databases [PDF]
Using Gale Academic OneFile database [PDF]
Using eTV [PDF]
Using Proquest Central database [PDF]
Using Joanna Briggs database [Video]
Using Ovid nursing database [PDF]
Using Pubmed [Video]
Using Pubmed, CINAHL, Proquest & Ovid to find MeSH headings [PDF]
Using Science Direct database [PDF]
Using LinkedIn Learning [PDF]
What is a peer-reviewed article [PDF]
Using Google Scholar and more [PDF]
What are primary and secondary sources [PDF]
Troubleshooting access to databases [PDF]
Clearing your cache in Chrome, Edge, Safari and Firefox [Website]

Medical Imaging: Articles/Databases

Finding Journal Articles

Medical Imaging Journals @ Ara Library

Recommended databases

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

Guides To Using Ara Databases