Subject Guides: Broadcasting: Articles / Databases

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Start here for definitions of key terms and background information.

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
The online version of the famous and trustworthy encyclopedia. Contains articles, images, videos, biographies, statistics, and an interactive atlas. Great source of primary sources.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a good place to look if you can be specific about what you need.

Recommended Databases

Try searching some of these databases for articles on your subject.
For topics that are not specifically related to journalism, go to All Databases.

New Zealand Herald Online (On campus access only) This link opens in a new window
Get the latest breaking news, analysis and opinion from NZ and around the world, including politics, business, sport, entertainment, travel and more. Includes free access to premium pay for view articles. Follow the instructions to set up an account. Accessible only on campus.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. This database covers engineering, language and linguistics, education, history, arts and literature, biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion and theology
Art Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers art, photography, film, and architecture. Includes full text for the journal Sight and Sound.
Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text leading Australia/New Zealand magazines, and newspapers, including the Australian Financial Review. Also contains local biographies, reference books, and an image and video collection.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals. This comprehensive resource covers all subject areas.
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale’s largest general-interest periodical resource. Content includes more than 9,000 full-text titles, over 3,700 refereed journals, and audio and video content. Coverage ranges from 1980 to present.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides balance and perspective to a variety of issues using arguments from recognized subject-matter experts, combined with reference articles, and info-graphics. Examines over 19,000 viewpoints on issues ranging from abortion to marijuana and online gambling to zoos.
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media This link opens in a new window
Focuses on all aspects of the communications field: key subjects covered include advertising and public relations, linguistics, and literature.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Current and reliable online literature resource, offering a broad range of authors and their works, including a deep collection of full-text critical and literary analysis for literary studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Freely available academic content on JSTOR and Artstor from open access ebooks, journals and public collections.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations and case studies. Choose to filter your search by clicking on the "Books" tab to find only ebooks on your topic.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Includes selected health & life science, as well as physical science titles.
Vocational Studies Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for the research needs of vocational programs. Topics include counseling, computing, culinary arts, electrical technology, fashion design, graphic arts, health information technology, interior design, travel and tourism, and veterinary assisting.

All Library Databases
This link will bring you to a page with ALL of Ara's subscribed databases. Ask a librarian for help with choosing one if you need guidance!

eTV

Did you miss an episode or series on TV? Well eTV can help as it records and archives TV programs for educational purposes. All you need to do is log in, then search for what takes your fancy to watch online.

How do I use eTV?

LinkedIn Learning

LinkedIn Learning
Contains a huge number of video learning resources. You can train yourself in almost anything from Agile Project Management to WordPress and Zoom.
How do I use LinkedIn Learning
Communication Tips
This course helps you communicate better in a variety of professional situations, including meetings, email messages, pitches, and presentations.
Problem Solving Techniques
Learn techniques for identifying the root cause of a problem, generating options, and selecting the best solution.
Reduce Stress and Anxiety by Managing Your Nervous System
Stress, anxiety, burnout, overwhelm, and disengagement are all connected to the function of your nervous system. Learning how to work at the level of your nervous system can help you bring your best self to the challenges you face on a daily basis.
Time Management Fundamentals
How to develop habits to be more organized and reduce the clutter in your workspace; how to stay mentally on task and eliminate the to-dos you have floating in your head; and how to develop a time budget to get the most done during your workday and focus on your most valuable activities.

Broadcasting: Articles / Databases

Finding Journal Articles

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Google Scholar

Recommended Databases

eTV

LinkedIn Learning