Getting set up for study: How do I?

A guide to help you get started at Ara Institute of Canterbury

Learning Services

Learning Services have a range of online resources to help you develop study and math skills to ensure you can complete coursework successfully. They also run weekly workshops and Q & A sessions. Call into the Library to pick up a timetable. There is also support for off campus students.

 

 

Endnote

EndNote is a software tool you use to manage bibliographies and references. It enables you to:

  • create your bibliographies in word-processing software such as Microsoft Word.
  • store all of your bibliographic references in your own private, searchable reference library.

How do I access EndNote?

Using Primo Library Search

  • Using Primo Library Search [PDF] [Video]
  • How to find an article in my reading list [PDF] [Video]
  • How to request an item [PDF] [Video]
  • How to access a Proquest ebook [PDF] [Video]
  • How to download a Proquest ebook to my own device [PDF]
  • How to access Safari ebook [PDF]
  • How to renew items on loan [PDF] [Video]
  • How to pin items to your favourites using Primo Library search [PDF]

You can see all our Library video tutorials in our blog.

Guides to using Ara Databases

  • Find an article in a database (EBSCO) [PDF] [Video]
  • Using Gale Academic OneFile database [PDF]
  • Using eTV [PDF]
  • Using Proquest Central database [PDF]
  • Using Joanna Briggs database [Video]
  • Using Ovid nursing database [PDF] 
  • Using Science Direct database [PDF]
  • Using LinkedIn Learning [PDF]
  • What is a peer-reviewed article [PDF]
  • Using Google Scholar and more [PDF]
  • What are primary and secondary sources [PDF]
  • Troubleshooting access to databases [PDF]

Learning resources

Find here a range of study support resources from Learning Services and Disability Services. You can access the full range of online support in Learning Resources on My Ara. See the timetable  for Library and Learning Services lunchtime workshops.