Look for a particular article from a recommended reading list. (Use this method if you have a reading list with the details of an article, e.g. author, article/journal title).
Use Google Scholar to find articles in Ara databases. (Use this method to find open access scholarly articles as well as articles in some Ara databases).
Using Google Scholar to find articles in Ara databases [PDF][Video]
Images in arts, architecture, humanities and sciences. For educational use only – images must not be used in publicly accessible resources unless otherwise specified in the rights statement.
To view image description click the caption under the thumbnail image or the “i” icon under the large screen image.
System requirements: Flash Player, cookies enabled, Pop-up blockers disabled from *artstor.org and *artstor.net
Register for an account to access ArtStor remotely for up to 120 days, access on a mobile device, save and organise images into groups, download images and add notes.
An online resource for Ara students. Follow the videos and complete the exercises to independently develop your knowledge and skills. Enjoy lessons on subjects such as:
The World's No.1 fashion trend forecaster. Contains long term fashion trends, catwalk shows, street style reports and a searchable image library. Please note Ara only has access to the fashion tab. You will need to register ON CAMPUS at first, but after that you can log in anywhere. It will ask you for your phone number to authenticate. NZ is +64. Include your entire phone number including the 0.
An excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. This database covers engineering, language and linguistics, education, history, arts and literature, biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion and theology
Images in arts, architecture, humanities and sciences. For educational use only – images must not be used in publicly accessible resources unless otherwise specified in the rights statement.
To view image description click the caption under the thumbnail image or the “i” icon under the large screen image.
System requirements: Flash Player, cookies enabled, Pop-up blockers disabled from *artstor.org and *artstor.net
Register for an account to access ArtStor remotely for up to 120 days, access on a mobile device, save and organise images into groups, download images and add notes.
The leading source of scholarly, multidisciplinary information on all aspects of dress and fashion worldwide, from pre-history to the present day. It contains a large collection of images and eBooks.
Gale’s largest general-interest periodical resource. Content includes more than 9,000 full-text titles, over 3,700 refereed journals, and audio and video content. Coverage ranges from 1980 to present.
The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations and case studies. Choose to filter your search by clicking on the "Books" tab to find only ebooks on your topic.
Designed specifically for the research needs of vocational programs. Topics include counseling, computing, culinary arts, electrical technology, fashion design, graphic arts, health information technology, interior design, travel and tourism, and veterinary assisting.
The online version of the famous and trustworthy encyclopedia. Contains articles, images, videos, biographies, statistics, and an interactive atlas. Great source of primary sources.
