library logo banner

English for Language Learners: Articles/Databases

This guide has been created to help English learners to succeed at Ara.

Finding Journal Articles

There are three main ways to find the articles you need:

  • Search Ara Library databases for articles on your subject. (Use this method to find your own articles for an assignment).
  • Look for a particular article from a recommended reading list. (Use this method if you have a reading list with the details of an article, e.g. author, article/journal title). 

  • Use Google Scholar to find articles in Ara databases. (Use this method to find open access scholarly articles as well as articles in some Ara databases). 
    • Using Google Scholar to find articles in Ara databases [PDF] [Video] 

Resource Focus

The Press Header

Press Reader is a great resource. You can read almost any newspaper from around the world. You can read the newspapers from your own country that are in English, which will help you improve your reading! 

China Daily header

Hindustan times header

 

Recommended Databases

We have some collections of articles that are very useful for English learners- they can be used for your assignments in most cases, and should be easy to read. 

Guides To Using Ara Databases

  • Find an article in a database (EBSCO) [PDF] [Video]
  • Find a Standard in Standards New Zealand database [PDF]
  • How to access O'Reilly eBooks [formerly Safari eBooks] [PDF]
  • Template example for search strategies to use in databases [PDF]
  • Using Gale Academic OneFile database [PDF]
  • Using eTV [PDF]
  • Using Proquest Central database [PDF]
  • Using Joanna Briggs database [Video]
  • Using Ovid nursing database [PDF] 
  • Using Pubmed [Video]
  • Using Pubmed, CINAHL, Proquest & Ovid to find MeSH headings [PDF]
  • Using Science Direct database [PDF]
  • Using LinkedIn Learning [PDF]
  • What is a peer-reviewed article [PDF]
  • Using Google Scholar and more [PDF]
  • What are primary and secondary sources [PDF]
  • Troubleshooting access to databases [PDF]