Subject Guides: Creativity: Websites

Galleries & Artists

Art Project (Google)
Explore Museums from around the world.
View and zoom into artworks
Art.sy
Images and artist profiles from leading galleries, museums and private collections. NOTE: downloading images is not permitted
Creative NZ
NZ Arts links
Digital NZ
Pictures, sounds and objects from New Zealand's archives, galleries, libraries and museums
Europeana: Think Culture
Images and noted from European museums.
Find New Zealand Artists
Index of NZ artists ranging in date from the 19th Century to the present day. Pinpoints which libraries in NZ hold specific artist resources.
Getty Publications Virtual Library
Books by The Getty Museum covering art, architecture and archaeology. Read online or download pdf. Free to the public.
Google Cultural Institute
Information on world heritage sites from the world's museums and galleries. Includes Art Project, Historic Moments & World Wonders.
Guggenheim Catalogues
Catalogues published by the Guggenheim art museum. Click “Read Catalogue Online”. Downloads available at Archive.org.
MetPublications
Over 400 art history books spanning 50 years of publication by the Metropolitan Museum of Art. These can be read online or downloaded. Free to the public.
more...less...
Readers may also locate works of art from the Met's collections that are included in every book and periodical title and access the most recent information about these works in the Collections section (http://www.metmuseum.org/collection).
Modern Art Timelines
Links showing the progression of the modern art movements.
NZ Art Galleries
Directory of NZ galleries, museums and arts organisations.
NZ Artists
Find biographical and exhibition information about selected NZ artists.

Culture Club

What is Cultural Appropriation and why is it wrong?
Defines cultural appropriation and gives examples of it and why it bothers people. Put together by About.com and has an American focus.
Maori Language, Culture and Heritage
An in depth, government produced website looking at the history of Maori language, culture and heritage.
Cultural Survival
From the website vision statement: "Cultural Survival envisions a future that respects and honors Indigenous Peoples inherent rights and dynamic cultures, deeply and richly interwoven in lands, languages, spiritual traditions, and artistic expression, rooted in self-determination and self-governance."
more...less...
You can also find and listen to indigenous radio stations around the world including 49 in New Zealand. http://consent.culturalsurvival.org/

Māori and creativity - Mahi-ā-ringa

Aute or Tapa cloth making

Nikau Hindin is reviving the Māori art of Aute

Here is also an interview with Nikau Hindin from The Spinoff called The woman reviving the art of Māori Aute | and the video trailer for "Te Uru Aute" a recently released short film modelling the tuakana -teina model of teaching Aute.

Contemporary Māori art – ngā toi hōu
Information from Te Ara: Encyclopedia of New Zealand on the history and future of contemporary Māori art.
Ralph Hotere
From Artnet
Sculpture and Design: An Outline of Maori Art
By Gilbert Archey, Director, Auckland War Memorial Museum from Handbook of the Auckland War Memorial Museum, 1960
Traditional Weaving
The website from Te Ara: Encyclopedia of New Zealand covers the traditional and rebirth of traditional weaving.
Whakairo - Māori carving
From Te Ara- The encyclopedia of New Zealand

Creativity: Websites

Be critical... evaluate your resources!

Galleries & Artists

Culture Club

Māori and creativity - Mahi-ā-ringa

Aute or Tapa cloth making