Computing: LinkedIn Learning Courses

Instructor Jen Simmons highlights all of the fundamental concepts you need to use HTML thoughtfully. She focuses on semantic markup: tagging content as what it is, and not just for formatting, convention, or convenience.

An introduction to networking, starting with the basics of what makes up a network, before going into the key foundational aspects you need to know about networking, including the structure of an IP address and how data packets are used to drive data from one computer to another using the IP protocol. Shows how to count in binary, understand static and dynamic routing, use network tools, and why you need to know these things to have a career in the IT field.

This course is an ideal starting point for job seekers wishing to venture into the field of technical support or seeking to strengthen their overall technical savvy and skills. It covers the fundamental IT help desk responsibilities, including software installation, networking, and troubleshooting. Learn about removing software from a computer, networking through the command line, joining computers to a domain, and more.

Covers network security and securing an organization's infrastructure. Introduces security devices such as firewalls and honeypots. In addition covers the importance of isolating networks with VLANS and NAT addressing, along with a review of common security protocols.

Explains how to select a cloud provider and plan a migration. Also reviews the security considerations and typical day-to-day operations and tools IT administrators need to keep their cloud-based infrastructure up and running.

Kathryn Hodge covers all the basics: data types, strings, functions, and loops. She helps you control the flow and logic of your code, and debug your project to make sure it runs perfectly. Along the way, she provides real-world examples and introduces challenges that allow you to practice your new skills. This course is perfect for developers who need to get up to speed with Java fast, as well as for beginning programmers who want their first taste of this popular language.

Professor of computer science Tim Pintello introduces the core networking topologies and implementation examples. He will also explain and compare the OSI and TCP/IP models, and introduce viewers to commonly used network devices, such as NICs, hubs, switches, and routers.

This course provides the foundation you need to get started in database programming. Explore the terminology: normal forms, ACID and CRUD, referential integrity, transactions, records, and tables. Learn what role keys and unique values play in a relational model. Discover how to design the best system to contain your data, starting with the tables and relationships at the core of your database. Find out how to write queries to extract the data you need, and how to juggle the different demands of storage, access, performance, and security.

Gain the core knowledge to begin programming in any language. In this course, instructor Annyce Davis uses Python to explore the core concepts and structure of programming languages and helps you grasp what’s going on under the hood.

Covers the fundamentals of the relational model for creating databases of real-world situations. Goes over concepts that are applicable to a wide variety of platforms, including SQL Server, Oracle, Access, MySQL, and PostgreSQL. Learn the basics of data storage, review the structure of a data table, and learn how to plan your relational database using an entity-relationship design tool.

This course covers the fundamentals of servers, including popular server operating systems such as Windows Server and Linux. It's designed for the entry-level IT student who needs a basic understanding of server architecture, user administration, virtualization, storage, security, networking, and disaster recovery.

Are you a help desk specialist or a go-to technical troubleshooter? If people rely on you to diagnose and fix their computer issues, this course is for you. Join PC expert Dan Gookin as he takes you through a number of diagnostic and repair steps to solve PC problems.

Begins with operating system basics, such as managing files and folders. Next, shows how to find and use apps, browse the web, and work with email, calendar, and contacts. Explains how to use Teams, which is now embedded in the Windows interface. Also demonstrates how to customize Windows by adjusting your display preferences and account settings, and how to leverage the most useful accessibility features included with Windows. Plus, discover how to use Cortana, the digital assistant; share data between Windows devices; and back up Windows.

Covers the key topics like choosing your server roles, different server environments, hyper-converged infrastructure, storage options, identity and access, and virtualization. Also highlights the benefits of upgrading to Server 2022, and shows how to automate installation.