library logo banner

Civil Engineering: Articles / Databases

A selection of excellent civil engineering resources to help you with your studies.

Finding Journal Articles

There are three main ways to find the articles you need:

  • Search Ara Library databases for articles on your subject. (Use this method to find your own articles for an assignment).
  • Look for a particular article from a recommended reading list. (Use this method if you have a reading list with the details of an article, e.g. author, article/journal title). 
  • Use Google Scholar to find articles in Ara databases. (Use this method to find open access scholarly articles as well as articles in some Ara databases). 
    • Using Google Scholar to find articles in Ara databases [PDF] [Video] 

Civil Engineering Journals @ Ara Library

Standards NZ

AJ Building Library

The AJ Buildings Library showcases thousands of exemplar projects, most from the last 20 years but including major projects back to 1900. You can search for projects by age, cost, architect, building type, footprint, location and a combination of these. For instance ‘School built for less than £10m’ or ‘Offices between 1,000m² and 5,000m² from the last ten years’. Each project featured in the library includes full project data and comprehensive architectural photographs and drawings (plans, elevation, section) – all provided at high resolution. There is also a large number of working details. Drawings can be downloaded and printed out to their original scale.

Recommended databases

All databases

We subscribe to over 60 different databases ranging from online encyclopedias and dictionaries to industry relevant resources. Below are the ones thought most relevant to your course.

LinkedIn Learning

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

 

Google Scholar is a good alternative place to look for academic articles.