Subject Guides: Aotearoa/New Zealand: Articles/Databases

Christchurch City Libraries Databases

Aotearoa New Zealand databases from Christchurch City Libraries

Join Christchurch City Libraries and choose "Digital Only Membership" for instant database access. This will give you 3 months access. After that you will need to visit any Christchurch City library. Click here for more information.

New Zealand Journals @ Ara Library

Heritage New Zealand
Recognised as New Zealand’s leading heritage journal, the magazine features a wide range of interesting articles on the preservation and conservation of historic buildings and sites, as well as the people who work with them.
New Zealand Journal of History
New Zealand's premier journal for academic writing on New Zealand history and includes contributions from New Zealand's most famous historians.
New Zealand Memories.
A bi-monthly publication cherishing New Zealand's heritage.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a good alternative place to look for academic articles.

eTV

eTV records and archives TV programs for educational purposes. Many programs have great Kiwi content. All you need to do is log in, then search for what takes your fancy to watch online.

How do I use eTV?

Recommended databases

All Library Databases
This link will bring you to a page with ALL of Ara's subscribed databases. Ask a librarian for help with choosing one if you need guidance!

Australia / New Zealand Points of View Reference Centre (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A rich resource for perspectives on contentious social, political, and technological issues.Topics range from the anti-smacking laws to water shortages. Each topic has an overview, a point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), with a guide to the critical analysis of each topic.
Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text leading Australia/New Zealand magazines, and newspapers, including the Australian Financial Review. Also contains local biographies, reference books, and an image and video collection.
BWB Texts Collection This link opens in a new window
Access eBooks on New Zealand social and economic topics. Also includes videos of authors discussing their research.
BWB Critical Issues Collection This link opens in a new window
Access New Zealand eBooks on issues such as housing, climate change, justice, inequality, migration, science and health.
eTV This link opens in a new window
eTV records and archives TV programmes for educational purposes. Ara subscribes to this service so students must login first, then search for programmes of interest and view them online. Tutors may embed eTV programmes within course Moodle pages. Includes programmes from Rialto, Soho, and Maori television.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals. This comprehensive resource covers all subject areas.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Find information on notable people from throughout history including prominent New Zealanders.
Index New Zealand (INNZ) This link opens in a new window
A free online database offered by the National Library of New Zealand that brings together, and makes easy to find, descriptions of more than 900,000 articles from over 1000 New Zealand and the South Pacific newspapers, journals and magazines.
Waka Kuaka: Journal of the Polynesian Society This link opens in a new window
Waka Kuaka is a peer-reviewed journal that features social, cultural, indigenous and historical research relating to the peoples of the Pacific including Māori and other Polynesian cultures.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Freely available academic content on JSTOR and Artstor from open access ebooks, journals and public collections.
National Library This link opens in a new window
Search the full collections of the National Library and the Alexander Turnbull Library
New Zealand Herald Online (On campus access only) This link opens in a new window
Get the latest breaking news, analysis and opinion from NZ and around the world, including politics, business, sport, entertainment, travel and more. Includes free access to premium pay for view articles. Follow the instructions to set up an account. Accessible only on campus.
BWB New Zealand History Collection This link opens in a new window
Access eBooks on New Zealand history. Includes videos from the authors talking about their research.
BWB New Zealand Sign Language Collection This link opens in a new window
Access eBooks relating to New Zealand's deaf community.
BWB New Zealand Women's Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Access eBooks discussing issues relating to New Zealand women. Includes videos of authors discussing their research.
Papers Past This link opens in a new window
Digitised New Zealand newspapers, periodicals, letters, diaries and parliamentary papers from 1839 to 1945. Coverage includes The Press from 1861 to December 1989.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations and case studies. Choose to filter your search by clicking on the "Books" tab to find only ebooks on your topic.
Treaty of Waitangi Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of searchable eBooks from Bridget Williams on the Treaty of Waitangi. Books are written from leading thinkers on this foundation document.

Other sources

Christchurch City Libraries - Māori section
Find a wide range of resources here on tikanga Māori including access to the Māori Land Minute book for whakapapa research.
Dictionary of New Zealand biography
From Te Ara Encyclopedia of New Zealand
Figure.NZ
Find and use statistics about New Zealand, for free. All data is authoritative and shared under Creative Commons Licence.
Hansard Indexes
New Zealand Parliamentary Debates (also known as Hansard) is the official report of the proceedings of the House. Lots of information and statistical reports support this content and are available for download. Some topics you might search on are smoking, cancer, gambling, etc.
National Library Topic Explorer
From the website: "The Topic Explorer is a collection of quality articles, video, websites, audio, research papers, etc. curated by topic for the School curriculum. Many of the topics give good places to start for foundation and first year courses here at Ara e.g. famous New Zealanders; globalisation; hauora; kiwiana; Māori heroes; Treaty of Waitangi; and Wearable arts.
NZ Research
This website is a gateway to the open-access research documents produced at universities, polytechnics, and other research institutions throughout New Zealand.
Te Puna Search
Searches all the New Zealand libraries at once.
A to J's online
AtoJs Online contains a collection of digitised volumes of the Appendices to the Journals of the House of Representatives. The collection currently covers the years 1854 to 1945. Good source of historical Government information on Māori topics and iwi.
Tuhinga: the research journal of Te Papa
Note this site works best when viewed from a smartphone.
University of Canterbury research repository
Great resource for studies conducted in the Canterbury region.

Aotearoa/New Zealand: Articles/Databases

Finding Journal Articles

Christchurch City Libraries Databases

New Zealand Journals @ Ara Library

Google Scholar

eTV

Recommended databases

Other sources