Finding Journal Articles
There are three main ways to find the articles you need:
- Search Ara Library databases for articles on your subject. (Use this method to find your own articles for an assignment).
- Look for a particular article from a recommended reading list. (Use this method if you have a reading list with the details of an article, e.g. author, article/journal title).
LinkedIn Learning
- Excel Essential Training (Office 365/Microsoft 365)Learn how to enter and organize data, perform calculations with simple functions, and format the appearance of rows, columns, cells, and data.
- Outlook Essential Training (Office 365/Microsoft 365)How to quickly create, send, and read email and reduce your inbox clutter; create and share contacts; and stay on schedule with calendars and tasks.
- Interpersonal CommunicationTechniques for getting your message across effectively in the workplace, and explains how to tackle potential communication challenges.
- Communicating Across CulturesLearn how to understand the differences in how people communicate. Your communication skills are critical to workplace harmony and the bottom line.
Google Scholar
Recommended databases
We subscribe to over 60 different databases ranging from online encyclopedias and dictionaries to industry relevant resources. Below are the ones thought most relevant to your course:
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. This database covers engineering, language and linguistics, education, history, arts and literature, biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion and theology - Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text leading Australia/New Zealand magazines, and newspapers, including the Australian Financial Review. Also contains local biographies, reference books, and an image and video collection. - Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
The online version of the famous and trustworthy encyclopedia. Contains articles, images, videos, biographies, statistics, and an interactive atlas. Great source of primary sources. - Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. An essential tool for business students. - Environment Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of environment journals covering ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental policy, sustainability and other related subjects. - Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals. This comprehensive resource covers all subject areas. - Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
Educational resources about the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues from fast fashion to coral reef restoration. - Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
Authoritative information from earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography. - Gale OneFile: Agriculture This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals covering agriculture and its related fields. You can access current and authoritative periodical content that spans the industry—from practical aspects of farming to cutting-edge scientific research in horticulture. - GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more - ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations and case studies. Choose to filter your search by clicking on the "Books" tab to find only ebooks on your topic.
Useful eJournals
- AFBM Journal: Agricultural Business Management & Farming SystemsPublishes papers in the areas of farm business management and the related areas of agricultural technology and farming systems (Australian).
- New Zealand Journal of Agricultural ResearchThe journal's subject matter includes soil science, fertilisers, insect pests, plant pathology, weeds, forage crops, management systems, agricultural economics, agronomy, and animal science.
- New Zealand Journal of Crop and Horticultural ScienceThe scope of the journal encompasses agricultural economics, agronomy, biotechnology, entomology, plant nutrition, plant breeding, plant pathology, pomology, postharvest physiology, soil science, and viticulture.
Landcare Research
- BiodiversityDiscovering, protecting and restoring our precious taonga. Covers plants, fungi, arthropods & bacteria as well as species & ecosystem conservation.
- BiosecurityAll about protecting New Zealand from invasive biological threats. Looks at weed management, animal pest management and ecosystem resilience.
- EnvironmentResearch for New Zealanders to make better decisions about the environment. Covers climate change and sustainability.
- LandGreat local research on hydrology, soil contaminants and sustainability.
- What is that bug?The website allows you to identify and investigate control options.