Subject Guides: Open Education Resources: Open Education Resources by Subject

OER in New Zealand

An Australian and New Zealand Human Resource Management Guide to Work Health and Safety (2023)
Media studies textbook
Textbook project led by Dr Erika Pearson, Senior Lecturer in the Department of Media, Film and Communication University of Otago.
New Zealand Parliamentary Library
Most Parliamentary resources are provided with Creative Commons licences.
Science Learning hub
Not an official Creative Commons resource but only requires attribution so is equivalent to CC-BY permitting reuse and adaptation.
Tuwhera
Open research from AUT
Udacity - Self-driving car engineering nanodegree
An NZQA approved microcourse at the Level 9 - Masters Level.

CIA World Factbook
MERLOT: Humanities
Oapen Library
OER: Arts and Humanities
Open TextBook Library: Humanities
Open Textbook Library: Journalism, Media Studies & Communications
Project Muse
Project MUSE is your trusted source for the highest quality books and journals in the humanities and social sciences from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.

Biomed Central (BMC)
Europe PMC
Key resources from the NZ Ministry of Health Library
Includes New Zealand Health System, Māori Health, Pacific Health, Disability, etc.
Libretexts - open ebooks
Open TextBook Library: Medicine
OER: Social Work
MERLOT: Health Sciences
Nucleus Medical Art Library
Includes image and video for diseases, cardiovascular system, back and spine, nervous, reproductive and digestive systems and more.
Public Library of Science (PLOS)
Pubmed / PMC open access articles
Leave the "open access" filter and add your keywords after this.
Semantic scholar

Journals

Medical encyclopedia

Specific topics

Free online courses

Medical imaging

2012 Book Archive
Creative Commons-licensed copies of over 100 entry-level textbooks including business, communication, nutrition and sociology topics.
GCF Learn - Business communication
Ideas (Largest Economics database)
IEEE Xplore
To find the open access articles, search on your keyword and then in the left column under "Show" refine the search to "Open Access Only"
Intech: Business
MERLOT: Business
OER Commons: Business and Communication
OpenStax: Business
Open TextBook Library: Business
Open Textbook Library: Economics

Citeseerx - Computer and information science database
First Monday: Peer reviewed journal on the Internet
An open access source of articles on contemporary topics about the internet.
IEEE Xplore
To find the open access articles, search on your keyword and then in the left column under "Show" refine the search to "Open Access Only"
Journal of Community Informatics
Community Informatics (CI) is the study and the practice of enabling communities with Information and Communications Technologies (ICTs). Articles are open access and peer-reviewed.
MERLOT: Computer Sciences
Open Culture: Computer Sciences
Open TextBook Library: Computer Science and Information Systems

Digital Pasifik
Digital Pasifik lets you find Pacific culture, history, and stories from museums, archives, libraries, and galleries
Ebooks from Papers Past
Figshare
A repository where researchers can preserve and share their research outputs.
Google Play - Books - Māori
Some historic titles now out of copyright and in the Public Domain.
JSTOR - Open access ebooks and journals
Use the keyword Māori to see a range of open access content.
Kā huru manu: Ngāi Tahu cultural atlas
Find Māori place names and their history in the Ngāi Tahu region - Te Wai Pounamu, the South Island of New Zealand.
Mai Journal: New Zealand journal of indigenous scholarship
Māori health review
MeBooks
Look at the Popular Free category which includes many mātauranga Māori titles amongst the 250 New Zealand titles. Register with your email and create a password to download the free ebooks of your choice
NZETC
New Zealand Electronic Textbook Centre
NZ On Screen - Māori
A range of film and television resources on Māori topics
NZ Research
A good source for Māori research outputs.
Parkinson (2004) Books in Māori: an annotated bibliography
Pataka raraunga: Find data for and about Māori
Improve Māori wellbeing through better, data-informed decisions. All data is from authoritative sources and is shared under Creative Commons Licence.
Sites: a journal of social anthropology and cultural studies
Te Aka : Māori dictionary
Te Kaharoa : the ejournal on indigenous Pacific issues
Te Paipera Tapu 1868