Subject Guides: Animal Science/Vet Nursing: Articles / Databases

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a good alternative place to look for academic articles.

Vet Nursing Magazines & Journals @ Ara Library

Kennel & Cattery Management.
Covering all aspects of canine and feline care the publication is also of interest to dog and cat breeders, managers and staff of rescue centres, plus students of animal care.
NZ Dog World
For all NZ pedigree dog breeding information and confirmation, obedience and agility dogs clubs and more.
Pet Life
The regular sections include vet articles, pet first aid tips, rescue group superstars, giveaways and an extensive list of animal welfare & rescue groups across New Zealand. The website contains the online version of the magazine.
Today's Veterinary Practice
Peer reviewed practical, educational articles that include both standard-of-care and cutting-edge clinical information for the companion animal veterinary practitioner.

Guides To Using Ara Databases

Find an article in a database (EBSCO) [PDF] [Video]
Find a Standard in Standards New Zealand database [PDF]
How to access O'Reilly eBooks [formerly Safari eBooks] [PDF]
How to access Vital Source ebooks [PDF]
Template example for search strategies to use in databases [PDF]
Using Gale Academic OneFile database [PDF]
Using eTV [PDF]
Using Proquest Central database [PDF]
Using Joanna Briggs database [Video]
Using Ovid nursing database [PDF]
Using Pubmed [Video]
Using Pubmed, CINAHL, Proquest & Ovid to find MeSH headings [PDF]
Using Science Direct database [PDF]
Using LinkedIn Learning [PDF]
What is a peer-reviewed article [PDF]
Using Google Scholar and more [PDF]
What are primary and secondary sources [PDF]
Troubleshooting access to databases [PDF]
Clearing your cache in Chrome, Edge, Safari and Firefox [Website]

Recommended databases

We subscribe to over 50 different databases ranging from online encyclopedias and dictionaries to industry relevant resources. Below are the ones thought most relevant to your course:

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. From engineering, arts and literature, to sciences.
Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text AU/NZ magazines, and newspapers, including the Australian Financial Review. Also contains local biographies, reference books, and an image and video collection.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals. This comprehensive resource covers all subject areas.
Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
Authoritative information from earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography.
Gale Interactive: Science This link opens in a new window
An interactive database, which aims to bring science to life. Quality information is paired with 3D models that allow you to visualize concepts in biology, chemistry, earth science and human anatomy.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations and case studies. Choose to filter your search by clicking on the "Books" tab to find only ebooks on your topic.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
If you find an article that is not in full text, copy and paste the title of the journal article into Library Search to see if it is available in an Ara Library database. If it is not available then paste the Pubmed link into an Ask Live chat or email library@ara.ac.nz and a staff member will be able to assist further.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Includes selected health & life science, as well as physical science titles.

Image: Pixabay

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
The online version of the famous and trustworthy encyclopedia. Contains articles, images, videos, biographies, statistics, and an interactive atlas. Great source of primary sources.

Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand
Covers New Zealand people, environment, history, culture and society.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language.

Image: Ara Institute of Canterbury Ltd

Animal Science/Vet Nursing: Articles / Databases

Finding Journal Articles

Google Scholar

Vet Nursing Magazines & Journals @ Ara Library

Guides To Using Ara Databases

Recommended databases

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.