Subject Guides: Sports Science, Physical Activity & Health Promotion, and Human Nutrition: Articles/Databases

Relevant Journals @ Ara Library

The Journal of Sport & Exercise Science - Sport and Exercise Science New Zealand
This includes, but is not limited to, the fields of biomechanics, psychology, coaching, skill acquisition, exercise science, physiology, nutrition, injuries and rehabilitation.
Health Promotion Journal of Australia
Reports on policies, theories, strategies and programs that use educational, organisational, economic and/or environmental approaches to health promotion and their evaluation.
American Journal of Clinical Nutrition
Publishes original research in the area of human nutrition and includes editorials, commentaries and book reviews.
International Journal of Sport Nutrition and Exercise Metabolism
Covers nutritional aspects of human physical & athletic performance
Journal of Physical Activity and Health
Publishes original research and review papers examining the relationship between physical activity and health, studying physical activity as an exposure as well as an outcome.
Journal of Science and Medicine in Sport
An international refereed research publication covering all aspects of sport science and medicine.
Journal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition
Includes information about the effects of exercise and nutrition on health, disease, rehabilitation, training and performance.
PLoS One: Nutrition
A multidisciplinary open source journal - this link takes you straight to nutrition but subjects include sports science and diet. You can also access PLoS One through Academic OneFile

All Library Databases
This link will bring you to a page with ALL of Ara's subscribed databases. Ask a librarian for help with choosing one if you need guidance!

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. This database covers engineering, language and linguistics, education, history, arts and literature, biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion and theology
Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text leading Australia/New Zealand magazines, and newspapers, including the Australian Financial Review. Also contains local biographies, reference books, and an image and video collection.
CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL stands for Cumulative Index of Nursing & Allied Health Literature. It provides the largest database of content on nursing and allied health subjects including Evidence-based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons for overviews of major topics e.g. diabetes.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals. This comprehensive resource covers all subject areas.

Gale Interactive: Chemistry
An interactive database to help you explore, understand and enjoy chemistry.
Gale Interactive: Human anatomy
Explore human anatomy by manipulating 3D models by zooming, rotating, and pulling them apart. Accompanied by reference and periodical material.
Gale Interactive: Science
Allows you to bring science to life. Quality information is paired with 3D models that allow you to visualize concepts in biology, chemistry, earth science and human anatomy.

Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations and case studies. Choose to filter your search by clicking on the "Books" tab to find only ebooks on your topic.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Includes selected health & life science, as well as physical science titles.
SPORTDiscus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Content areas range from sports physiology and sports psychology to physical education and recreation.
Vocational Studies Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for the research needs of vocational programs. Topics include counseling, computing, culinary arts, electrical technology, fashion design, graphic arts, health information technology, interior design, travel and tourism, and veterinary assisting.

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
The online version of the famous and trustworthy encyclopedia. Contains articles, images, videos, biographies, statistics, and an interactive atlas. Great source of primary sources.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language.