library logo banner

Plumbing and Gasfitting: Articles / Databases

Resources for those undertaking plumbing and gasfitting courses at Ara

Finding Journal Articles

There are three main ways to find the articles you need:

  • Search Ara Library databases for articles on your subject. 

(Use this method if you need to find your own articles for an assignment).

Find an article in a database [PDF] [Video]

  • Look for a particular article from a recommended reading list.

(Use this method if you already have a reading list with the details of an article, e.g. author, article title and Journal title).

Find an article in my reading list [PDF] [Video]

  • Use Google Scholar to find articles in Ara databases

(Use this method to find open access scholarly articles as well as articles in some Ara databases).

Using Google Scholar to find articles in Ara databases [PDF] [Video]

Standards NZ

eTV

Do you want to watch episodes of Grand Designs or Mythbusters? Well eTV can help as it records and archives TV programs for educational purposes. All you need to do is log in, then search for what takes your fancy to watch online.

How do I use eTV?

Recommended Databases

All databases

We subscribe to over 60 different databases ranging from online encyclopedias and dictionaries to industry relevant resources. Below are the ones thought most relevant to your course:

SafetyCare videos

Access any of the Safetycare videos from here. If you are off campus, you will need to use your Ara network username and password to access these.

Ring the Library at  940 8089 or email library@ara.ac.nz if there are any issues. 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

 

Google Scholar is a good alternative place to look for academic articles.