Subject Guides: NASDA -Musical Theatre: Articles/Databases

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
The online version of the famous and trustworthy encyclopedia. Contains articles, images, videos, biographies, statistics, and an interactive atlas. Great source of primary sources.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language.

Christchurch City Libraries Databases

Music databases from Christchurch City Libraries

Join Christchurch City Libraries and choose "Digital Only Membership" for instant database access. This will give you 3 months access. After that you will need to visit any Christchurch City library. Click here for more information.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a good place to look if you can be specific about what you need.

Recommended Databases

Try searching some of these databases for articles on your subject.
For more options, go to All Databases.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. This database covers engineering, language and linguistics, education, history, arts and literature, biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion and theology
Art & Architecture Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide variety of subjects, including antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design.
Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text leading Australia/New Zealand magazines, and newspapers, including the Australian Financial Review. Also contains local biographies, reference books, and an image and video collection.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals. This comprehensive resource covers all subject areas.
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale’s largest general-interest periodical resource. Content includes more than 9,000 full-text titles, over 3,700 refereed journals, and audio and video content. Coverage ranges from 1980 to present.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Find information on notable people from throughout history including prominent New Zealanders.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Current and reliable online literature resource, offering a broad range of authors and their works, including a deep collection of full-text critical and literary analysis for literary studies.
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media This link opens in a new window
Focuses on all aspects of the communications field: key subjects covered include advertising and public relations, linguistics, and literature.
MasterFILE Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers over 2,000 full text journals and magazines, reference books, full-text primary source documents, photos, maps, and videos. Covers virtually every subject area.
Oxford Music Online (OUP) This link opens in a new window
Covers most genres, but best for classical music. It includes a useful range of New Zealand and Pacific content.

All Library Databases
This link will bring you to a page with ALL of Ara's subscribed databases. Ask a librarian for help with choosing one if you need guidance!

Guides To Using Ara Databases

Find an article in a database (EBSCO) [PDF] [Video]
Find a Standard in Standards New Zealand database [PDF]
How to access O'Reilly eBooks [formerly Safari eBooks] [PDF]
How to access Vital Source ebooks [PDF]
Template example for search strategies to use in databases [PDF]
Using Gale Academic OneFile database [PDF]
Using eTV [PDF]
Using Proquest Central database [PDF]
Using Joanna Briggs database [Video]
Using Ovid nursing database [PDF]
Using Pubmed [Video]
Using Pubmed, CINAHL, Proquest & Ovid to find MeSH headings [PDF]
Using Science Direct database [PDF]
Using LinkedIn Learning [PDF]
What is a peer-reviewed article [PDF]
Using Google Scholar and more [PDF]
What are primary and secondary sources [PDF]
Troubleshooting access to databases [PDF]
Clearing your cache in Chrome, Edge, Safari and Firefox [Website]

NASDA -Musical Theatre: Articles/Databases

Finding Journal Articles

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Christchurch City Libraries Databases

Google Scholar

Recommended Databases

Guides To Using Ara Databases