Subject Guides: Hairdressing/Barbering: Articles / Databases

Hair YouTube Video Collections

BeardBrand
Videos on beard grooming tips, bearded lifestyle content, and reviews of beard care products. Also includes videos on men's grooming, hair growth, and hair tutorials and barbershop videos.
Confessions of a Hairstylist
Jenny Streb is a former educational director at Tony and Guy. Here she presents tutorials on how to achieve the latest hair trends.
GHD
The official ghd YouTube channel which provides a variety of hair tutorials. "Watch our videos for a good hair day, every day!"
Guy Tang
A celebrity hairstylist in West Hollywood California presents some truly awesome hair coloring videos
Hairdressers Journal
Includes hairdressing how-tos and behind the scenes previews at fashion shows and photo shoots in the UK.
Janet Stephens
Historical hairdressing tutorials based on archaeological research and primary sources. Very interesting!
Lilith Moon
Hair tutorials for medium and long hair.
Luxy hair
Braids, buns, updos, waves, curls and any other hairstyles.
Nomadbarber
Nomad Barber is an independent online web-series documenting one barber as he travels the globe learning more about his trade.
Slikhaar TV - Men's hair
Men's hair tutorials every week. Latest trends from undercuts, to platinum blond hairstyles. "Our goal is to inspire the modern man to express himself through style & perfect hair".
Tony and Guy
An international leader in the industry presents a variety of hairdressing videos.
Wella Professionals
Wella's guide to trends, cutting and color.

Recommended databases

We subscribe to over 60 different databases ranging from online encyclopedias and dictionaries to industry relevant resources. Below are the ones thought most relevant to your course:

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. This database covers engineering, language and linguistics, education, history, arts and literature, biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion and theology
Artstor Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Images in arts, architecture, humanities and sciences. For educational use only – images must not be used in publicly accessible resources unless otherwise specified in the rights statement.
To view image description click the caption under the thumbnail image or the “i” icon under the large screen image.
System requirements: Flash Player, cookies enabled, Pop-up blockers disabled from *artstor.org and *artstor.net
Register for an account to access ArtStor remotely for up to 120 days, access on a mobile device, save and organise images into groups, download images and add notes.
Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text leading Australia/New Zealand magazines, and newspapers, including the Australian Financial Review. Also contains local biographies, reference books, and an image and video collection.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
The online version of the famous and trustworthy encyclopedia. Contains articles, images, videos, biographies, statistics, and an interactive atlas. Great source of primary sources.
eTV This link opens in a new window
eTV records and archives TV programmes for educational purposes. Use your Ara email address to activate the access to eTV. Tutors may embed eTV programmes within course pages.
Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Explore human anatomy by manipulating 3D models by zooming, rotating, and pulling them apart. Accompanied by reference and periodical material.
Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
Authoritative information from earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography.
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale’s largest general-interest periodical resource. Content includes more than 9,000 full-text titles, over 3,700 refereed journals, and audio and video content. Coverage ranges from 1980 to present.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations and case studies. Choose to filter your search by clicking on the "Books" tab to find only ebooks on your topic.
WGSN - Fashion (World Global Style Network) This link opens in a new window
The World's No.1 fashion trend forecaster. Contains long term fashion trends, catwalk shows, street style reports and a searchable image library. Please note Ara only has access to the fashion tab. You will need to register ON CAMPUS at first, but after that you can log in anywhere. It will ask you for your phone number to authenticate. NZ is +64. Include your entire phone number including the 0.

Google scholar

Google Scholar is a good alternative place to look for academic articles.

Image: Pixabay

Pinterest is the ultimate online, shareable, mood-board, social platform for hair and beauty professionals. The social book-marking site allows you to browse countless 'boards' of inspiration, allowing members to create their own 'boards' to show to clients.

Image: Pixabay

Hairdressing/Barbering: Articles / Databases

Finding Journal Articles

Hair YouTube Video Collections

Recommended databases

Google scholar

Pinterest