Subject Guides: Engineering Trades: Databases/Articles

Finding Journal Articles

There are three main ways to find the articles you need:

Search Ara Library databases for articles on your subject. (Use this method to find your own articles for an assignment).
- Find an article in a database [PDF] [Video]

Look for a particular article from a recommended reading list. (Use this method if you have a reading list with the details of an article, e.g. author, article/journal title).
- Find an article in my reading list [PDF] [Video]

Use Google Scholar to find articles in Ara databases. (Use this method to find open access scholarly articles as well as articles in some Ara databases).
- Using Google Scholar to find articles in Ara databases [PDF] [Video]

SafetyCare videos

Access any of the Safetycare videos from here. If you are off campus, you will need to use your Ara network username and password to access these.

Ring the Library at 940 8089 or email library@ara.ac.nz if there are any issues.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a good alternative place to look for academic articles.

Recommended Databases

All databases

We subscribe to over 80 different databases ranging from online encyclopedias and dictionaries to industry relevant resources. Below are the ones thought most relevant to your course:

Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre Plus (EBSCO)
Contains full-text AU/NZ magazines, and newspapers, including the Australian Financial Review. Also contains local biographies, reference books, and an image and video collection.
Britannica Academic
The online version of the famous and trustworthy encyclopedia. Contains articles, images, videos, biographies, statistics, and an interactive atlas. Great source of primary sources.
Engineering Source (EBSCO)
Designed for engineering professionals and researchers of all types, this premier collection of indexed and full-text content provides information relevant to many engineering disciplines.
Gale General OneFile
Gale’s largest general-interest periodical resource. Content includes more than 9,000 full-text titles, over 3,700 refereed journals, and audio and video content. Coverage ranges from 1980 to present.
Gale in Context: Science
Authoritative information from earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography.
GreenFILE (EBSCO)
Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more
Haynes Manuals All Access
Online repair and service manuals for all makes of cars and motorbikes. Many of the most popular models also have access to the Haynes OnDemand video tutorials.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language.
Safetyhub
Contains great workplace safety training videos ranging from office safety, fire awareness, handling hazardous substances to welding safety.
Vocational Studies Complete (EBSCO)
Designed specifically for the research needs of vocational programs. Topics include counseling, computing, culinary arts, electrical technology, fashion design, graphic arts, health information technology, interior design, travel and tourism, and veterinary assisting.

Standards New Zealand Library Online

Access Standards New Zealand Online Library

How to use Standards New Zealand Online Library

Sponsored Standards (Free to download)

MBIE has funded a number of standards for free download. This includes NZS 3604:2011 Timber Framed Buildings. You can download PDFs of these standards for personal use only.