Subject Guides: Tertiary Teaching and Learning: Articles/Databases

Finding Journal Articles

There are three main ways to find the articles you need:

Search Ara Library databases for articles on your subject. (Use this method to find your own articles for an assignment).
- Find an article in a database [PDF] [Video]

Look for a particular article from a recommended reading list. (Use this method if you have a reading list with the details of an article, e.g. author, article/journal title).
- Find an article in my reading list [PDF] [Video]

Use Google Scholar to find articles in Ara databases. (Use this method to find open access scholarly articles as well as articles in some Ara databases).
- Using Google Scholar to find articles in Ara databases [PDF] [Video]

Key Journals

Asia-Pacific Journal of Teacher Education
Promotes rigorous research to contribute to advancing knowledge in teacher education across early childhood, primary, secondary, vocational education and training, and higher education.
Journal of Teacher Education
Provides a vital forum for considering practice, policy, and research in teacher education.
New Directions for Teaching and Learning
(NDTL) provides theory, research, and practice to those in post secondary education.
Support for Learning Journal
The articles in this journal examine the practical and theoretical issues surrounding the education of pupils with special educational needs in mainstream schools.

Recommended Databases

CC0

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. From engineering, arts and literature, to sciences.
Education Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly research for education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education — from early childhood to higher education — as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
ERIC - Education Resource Information Center This link opens in a new window
ERIC has an extensive collection of journal articles, and is a good starting place for any education article search.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
More general articles, while remaining academic.
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities from around the world.
Professional Development Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Another large collection of articles aimed at educators.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations and case studies. Choose to filter your search by clicking on the "Books" tab to find only ebooks on your topic.
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 230 peer-reviewed journals on subjects including assessment, continuing education, pedagogical research, curriculum development, higher education, instructional media, and teacher education.

All Library Databases
This link will bring you to a page with ALL of Ara's subscribed databases. Ask a librarian for help with choosing one if you need guidance!

Guides To Using Ara Databases

Find an article in a database (EBSCO) [PDF] [Video]
Find a Standard in Standards New Zealand database [PDF]
How to access O'Reilly eBooks [formerly Safari eBooks] [PDF]
How to access Vital Source ebooks [PDF]
Template example for search strategies to use in databases [PDF]
Using Gale Academic OneFile database [PDF]
Using eTV [PDF]
Using Proquest Central database [PDF]
Using Joanna Briggs database [Video]
Using Ovid nursing database [PDF]
Using Pubmed [Video]
Using Pubmed, CINAHL, Proquest & Ovid to find MeSH headings [PDF]
Using Science Direct database [PDF]
Using LinkedIn Learning [PDF]
What is a peer-reviewed article [PDF]
Using Google Scholar and more [PDF]
What are primary and secondary sources [PDF]
Troubleshooting access to databases [PDF]
Clearing your cache in Chrome, Edge, Safari and Firefox [Website]

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a good alternative place to look for academic articles.