Subject Guides: Construction Management & Quantity Surveying: Articles / Databases

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a good alternative place to look for academic articles.

LinkedIn Learning

Access to LinkedIn Learning
Log in to LinkedIn Learning for the first time [PDF]
AutoCAD 2023 Essential Training
Covers how to use the ribbon, choose workspaces, and use the ViewCube. Also demonstrates how to manage units and options, draw and modify objects, work with dimensioning techniques, and use attributes, tables, and external references.
Communicating with Confidence
To help you sound more confident, use body and language to better express ideas, and overcome anxiety
Construction Management: Managing Risk
This course explains the basics of risk management for construction. Learn how risk changes with the complexity of the project and the type of delivery method being employed. Review your role and the scope of the risk management process, from analysis to control. Finally, review how technology can help you manage the challenges involved in daily activities.
Construction Management: Reading Drawings and Specifications
In this course, learn how to read construction drawings. Takes you through the different components that make up construction plans, and helping you understand the language of construction drawings.
Construction Management Foundations
Explains how integrated project delivery methods work, how technology is shaking up old processes, and how lean productivity methods are being used at construction sites.
Construction Math Foundations
The course is a practical and straightforward guide to the math construction professionals need to use the most. It provides clear examples and concise lessons, so you can get back to work and start crunching the numbers right away.
Learning Microsoft Project
Shows how to create a basic project and set up your work calendar. Next, walks through creating and modifying tasks—the building blocks of any project. Also covers how to assign resources to your project and address resource overallocations. Finally, learn how to communicate your plan using the built-in reports and visualizations, such as one-click burndown charts.

Recommended databases

We subscribe to over 60 different databases ranging from online encyclopedias and dictionaries to industry relevant resources. Below are the ones thought most relevant to your course.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. This database covers engineering, language and linguistics, education, history, arts and literature, biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion and theology
Art & Architecture Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide variety of subjects, including antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design.
Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text leading Australia/New Zealand magazines, and newspapers, including the Australian Financial Review. Also contains local biographies, reference books, and an image and video collection.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. An essential tool for business students.
Engineering Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed for engineering professionals and researchers of all types, this premier collection of indexed and full-text content provides information relevant to many engineering disciplines.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals. This comprehensive resource covers all subject areas.
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
Educational resources about the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues from fast fashion to coral reef restoration.
Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
Authoritative information from earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
Contains up-to-date content and expert led online courses. Desktop and mobile. 24/7 access to over 16,000 business, design, & technology courses to help you achieve your personal and professional goals.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations and case studies. Choose to filter your search by clicking on the "Books" tab to find only ebooks on your topic.
O'Reilly eBooks (Formerly Safari Books Online) This link opens in a new window
Access to tens of thousands of online books, videos, and case studies on technology and business topics. From cloud computing to public speaking to web development
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Includes selected health & life science, as well as physical science titles.
Standards New Zealand This link opens in a new window
Access to all NZS and AS/NZS standards in electronic format.
Vocational Studies Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for the research needs of vocational programs. Topics include counseling, computing, culinary arts, electrical technology, fashion design, graphic arts, health information technology, interior design, travel and tourism, and veterinary assisting.

Quantity Surveying and Construction Journals @ Ara Library

Photo by Valeria Fursa on Unsplash

Automation in Construction
The journal publishes refereed material on all aspects pertaining to the use of information technologies in architecture, engineering, construction technologies, and maintenance and management of constructed facilities.
Build
Build is New Zealand's premier building industry information resource. Its mission is to inform, educate, motivate and entertain builders, architects, designers and others who shape the built environment.
Building and Environment
Publishes original research papers and comprehensive review articles related to building science, urban physics, and human interaction with the indoor and outdoor built environment.
Building Research and Information
Publishes research on the life cycle of buildings, including inception, designing, engineering, building, disassembly, recovery and sustainable built environments.
Built Environment Economist
Australia and New Zealand journal for the quantity surveying and building/construction industry.
Construction and Building Materials
An international journal dedicated to the investigation and innovative use of materials in construction and repair.
Construction Innovation
Helps communicate novel ideas, applications and developments to construction researchers and professionals in order to maintain their competitive edge.
Construction Management and Economics
Research concerning the management and economics of activity in the construction industry.
Detail
News on construction and design.
Engineering, construction, and architectural management
ECAM seeks to advance integrated design and construction practices, project lifecycle management, and sustainable construction.
Journal of Engineering Design
Forum for all aspects of the design of engineering products and systems, including design management, techniques, costing, innovation, risk and complexity.
The New Zealand Building Economist : incorporating current construction costs.
It contains the costs of the various parts of a building - residential and light commercial. The unit rates in each issue of the magazine are set by practicing independent cost consultant quantity surveyors and are updated as required for each issue.

Online Open Access Journals

Buildings
An international, scientific, open access journal on building science, building engineering and architecture published quarterly online by MDPI.
Concrete Magazine
Architects, engineers, builders and those in the concrete sector turn to Concrete magazine for practical, technical and design information on how to maximise the potential of the world’s most widely used construction material.
Construction Economics and Building
A peer reviewed journal that publishes research into the economics and management of building and construction, quantity surveying and property management as well as construction education
International Journal of Construction Supply Chain Management
IJCSCM is a peer-reviewed journal for the publication of research and innovation in construction management and its supply chain.
The Journal of Civil Engineering and Management
Publishes original research that seeks to improve civil engineering competency, efficiency and productivity in world markets.
Journal of Information Technology in Construction
(ITcon) is a peer-reviewed scholarly journal on the use of IT in architecture, civil engineering and facility management.
Sustainability
An international and cross-disciplinary, scholarly, open access journal of technical, environmental, cultural, economic and social sustainability of human beings, which provides an advanced forum for studies related to sustainability and sustainable development.

Construction Management & Quantity Surveying: Articles / Databases

Finding Journal Articles

Google Scholar

LinkedIn Learning

Recommended databases

Quantity Surveying and Construction Journals @ Ara Library

Online Open Access Journals