Baking: Databases/Articles

A selection of excellent baking resources to help you with your studies

Finding Journal Articles

There are three main ways to find the articles you need:

  • Search Ara Library databases for articles on your subject. 

(Use this method if you need to find your own articles for an assignment).

Find an article in a database [PDF] [Video]

  • Look for a particular article from a recommended reading list.

(Use this method if you already have a reading list with the details of an article, e.g. author, article title and Journal title).

Find an article in my reading list [PDF] [Video]

  • Use Google Scholar to find articles in Ara databases

(Use this method to find open access scholarly articles as well as articles in some Ara databases).

Using Google Scholar to find articles in Ara databases [PDF] [Video]

Guides to using Ara Databases

  • Find an article in a database (EBSCO) [PDF] [Video]
  • Find a Standard in Standards New Zealand database [PDF][Video]
  • How to access O'Reilly eBooks [formerly Safari ebooks] [PDF]
  • Using Gale Academic OneFile database [PDF]
  • Using eTV [PDF]
  • Using Proquest Central database [PDF]
  • Using Joanna Briggs database [Video]
  • Using Ovid nursing database [PDF] 
  • Using Science Direct database [PDF]
  • Using LinkedIn Learning [PDF]
  • What is a peer-reviewed article [PDF]
  • Using Google Scholar and more [PDF]
  • What are primary and secondary sources [PDF]
  • Troubleshooting access to databases [PDF]

Recommended Databases

All databases

We subscribe to over 60 different databases ranging from online encyclopedias and dictionaries to industry relevant resources. Below are the ones thought most relevant to your course.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

 

Google Scholar is a good alternative place to look for academic articles.  

Image: Pixabay

Baking magazines

LinkedIn Learning (Formerly Lynda.com)

Work through some of these tutorials to develop your employability skills.