Subject Guides: Early Childhood Education: Articles/Databases

Online Journals

The First Years Ngā Tau Tuatahi
New Zealand Journal of Infant and Toddler Education. Covers practice, policy and pedagogy, both within Aotearoa New Zealand and internationally.

Australian Journal of Early Childhood
Publication Date: Online 2009-
Early Childhood Education Journal
ISBN: 1082-3301
Publication Date: Online 1997-
International Journal of Early Years Education
ISBN: 096-69760
Publication Date: Online 1998-
Support for Learning
ISBN: 0268-2141
Publication Date: Online 1998-

eTV

eTV records and archives TV programs for educational purposes. All you need to do is log in, then search for what takes your fancy to watch online. Videos can be embedded in Moodle courses or added to projects.

How do I use eTV?

Recommended databases

All databases

We subscribe to over 60 different databases ranging from online encyclopedias and dictionaries to industry relevant resources. Below are the ones thought most relevant to your course:

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. This database covers engineering, language and linguistics, education, history, arts and literature, biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion and theology
Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text leading Australia/New Zealand magazines, and newspapers, including the Australian Financial Review. Also contains local biographies, reference books, and an image and video collection.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
The online version of the famous and trustworthy encyclopedia. Contains articles, images, videos, biographies, statistics, and an interactive atlas. Great source of primary sources.
Education Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly research for education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education — from early childhood to higher education — as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
ERIC - Education Resource Information Center This link opens in a new window
An authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. It includes journal articles, conference papers, curriculum guides, and policy papers. Tick the limiters for full text and peer-reviewed articles.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals. This comprehensive resource covers all subject areas.
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities from around the world.
Professional Development Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A highly specialized database of over 450 full-text electronic journals for educators and education researchers.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations and case studies. Choose to filter your search by clicking on the "Books" tab to find only ebooks on your topic.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a good alternative place to look for academic articles.

Image: Pixabay

LinkedIn Learning

LinkedIn Learning
Contains a huge number of video learning resources. You can train yourself in almost anything from Agile Project Management to WordPress and Zoom.
How do I access LinkedIn Learning for the first time?
Communication Tips
This course helps you communicate better in a variety of professional situations, including meetings, email messages, pitches, and presentations.
Problem Solving Techniques
Learn techniques for identifying the root cause of a problem, generating options, and selecting the best solution.
Reduce Stress and Anxiety by Managing Your Nervous System
Stress, anxiety, burnout, overwhelm, and disengagement are all connected to the function of your nervous system. Learning how to work at the level of your nervous system can help you bring your best self to the challenges you face on a daily basis.
Time Management Fundamentals
How to develop habits to be more organized and reduce the clutter in your workspace; how to stay mentally on task and eliminate the to-dos you have floating in your head; and how to develop a time budget to get the most done during your workday and focus on your most valuable activities.

Early Childhood Education: Articles/Databases

Finding Journal Articles

Online Journals

eTV

Recommended databases

Google Scholar

LinkedIn Learning