Subject Guides: Computer Aided Design (CAD)/ Building Information Modeling (BIM): Articles / Databases

CAD/BIM journals @ Ara Library

Advanced Engineering Informatics
A journal that reports progress in the engineering discipline of applying computer science; have engineering relevance and help provide the scientific base to make engineering decision-making more reliable, spontaneous and creative.
Automation in Construction
The journal publishes refereed material on all aspects pertaining to the use of information technologies in architecture, engineering, construction technologies, and maintenance and management of constructed facilities.
Computer-Aided Design
Computer-Aided Design is a leading international journal that provides academia and industry with key papers on research and developments in the application of computers to design.
Construction Innovation
Helps communicate novel ideas, applications and developments to construction researchers and professionals in order to maintain their competitive edge.
Machine Design
Articles, special reports, commentary, news trends & tech briefs for research, development & design engineers engaged in the design & manufacture of machinery, electrical/electronic equipment & mechanical equipment.

O'Reilly eBooks

Don't forget to use O'Reilly eBooks. This database contains thousands of all the latest searchable eBooks, videos, and case studies on all aspects of computing and technology. Available 24/7.

How to use O'Reilly eBooks

Recommended databases

All databases

We subscribe to over 60 different databases ranging from online encyclopedias and dictionaries to industry relevant resources. Below are the ones thought most relevant to your course.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. This database covers engineering, language and linguistics, education, history, arts and literature, biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion and theology
Art & Architecture Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide variety of subjects, including antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design.
Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text leading Australia/New Zealand magazines, and newspapers, including the Australian Financial Review. Also contains local biographies, reference books, and an image and video collection.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. An essential tool for business students.
Engineering Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed for engineering professionals and researchers of all types, this premier collection of indexed and full-text content provides information relevant to many engineering disciplines.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals. This comprehensive resource covers all subject areas.
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
Educational resources about the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues from fast fashion to coral reef restoration.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
Contains up-to-date content and expert led online courses. Desktop and mobile. 24/7 access to over 16,000 business, design, & technology courses to help you achieve your personal and professional goals.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations and case studies. Choose to filter your search by clicking on the "Books" tab to find only ebooks on your topic.
O'Reilly eBooks (Formerly Safari Books Online) This link opens in a new window
Access to tens of thousands of online books, videos, and case studies on technology and business topics. From cloud computing to public speaking to web development
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Includes selected health & life science, as well as physical science titles.
Standards New Zealand This link opens in a new window
Access to all NZS and AS/NZS standards in electronic format.
Vocational Studies Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for the research needs of vocational programs. Topics include counseling, computing, culinary arts, electrical technology, fashion design, graphic arts, health information technology, interior design, travel and tourism, and veterinary assisting.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a good alternative place to look for academic articles.

LinkedIn Learning

Access to LinkedIn Learning
Log in to LinkedIn Learning for the first time [PDF]
AutoCAD 2023 Essential Training
Begins with the basics of the user interface and leads you to learning how to draw the kind of precise, measured 2D drawings that form the basis of design communication.
AutoCad: Tips and Tricks
Learn how to use AutoCAD's features in exciting new ways, customize the workspace and shortcuts to save time, create more accurate drawings with the measurement and organization tools, and more.
BIM Foundations
Gain foundational knowledge by first exploring the principles of BIM and the role it plays in modern architectural, engineering, and construction (AEC) projects. Then, learn about the benefits of BIM on a financial and investment level in the real world.
BIM Management: Techniques for Managing People and Processes
BIM is as much about people and processes as it is about technology. Learn about the human side of BIM management—the techniques you need to effectively lead a team.
Revit 2023: Essential Training for MEP (Metric)
MEP (mechanical, electrical, and plumbing) design is one of the major components of the BIM chain. This course focuses on the MEP features of the 2019 version of Revit for users who prefer to work in metric units (meters, centimeters, etc.).
SketchUp 2021 Essential Training
Learn how to start drawing, designing, and animating your ideas with SketchUp.

Standards New Zealand Library Online

Access Standards New Zealand Online Library

How to use Standards New Zealand Online Library

Computer Aided Design (CAD)/ Building Information Modeling (BIM): Articles / Databases

Finding Journal Articles