Subject Guides: Business: Articles / Databases

Popular NZ business magazines

Human Resources Magazine (NZ)
Online full text articles from the Auckland Institute of Personnel Management New Zealand.
New Zealand Journal of Applied Business Research (NZJABR)
The New Zealand Journal of Human Resources Management
A peer-reviewed eJournal that publishes original material on the development and practice of human resource management in New Zealand and the South Pacific region.
NZBusiness
News, articles and events.
NZ Business + Management
NZ Marketing
NZ's only publication targeted specifically towards marketing and marketing trends.

Recommended Databases

We subscribe to over 60 different databases ranging from online encyclopedias and dictionaries to industry relevant resources. Below are the ones thought most relevant to your course:

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. This database covers engineering, language and linguistics, education, history, arts and literature, biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion and theology
Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text leading Australia/New Zealand magazines, and newspapers, including the Australian Financial Review. Also contains local biographies, reference books, and an image and video collection.
Business Desk (Staff Version) This link opens in a new window
Daily business and political economy news, analysis and informed opinion from NZ's premier business publication. You can sign up for alerts and follow NZ business journalists. Follow the instructions to set up an account.
Business Desk (Student Version) This link opens in a new window
Daily business and political economy news, analysis and informed opinion from NZ's premier business publication. You can sign up for alerts and follow NZ business journalists. Follow the instructions to set up an account.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. An essential tool for business students.
CCH Business eBooks This link opens in a new window
A selection of business eBooks that include required texts for many courses. Two week loan period.
PLEASE NOTE: you will need to allow time for these often-large eBooks to load on your device.
eTV This link opens in a new window
eTV records and archives TV programmes for educational purposes. Use your Ara email address to activate the access to eTV. Tutors may embed eTV programmes within course pages.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals. This comprehensive resource covers all subject areas.
Gale Business Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new window
Covers business topics including starting and operating a business, finance, management, marketing, human resources, franchising, accounting, and taxes. The collection is mapped into four key stages of business- plan, fund, start and manage.
Gale Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Contains the world’s leading business journals, international case studies and company overviews combined with powerful analytical tools enable a broad understanding of international business.
Gale Business Plan Builder This link opens in a new window
Provides a gradual, step-by-step introduction to business concepts, business development and tools.
Note: You will need to hit the "Get Started" button first and create an account before you can use this tool.
Gale OneFile: Business This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, and business theory and practice.
Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics and related fields.
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
Contains up-to-date content and expert led online courses. Desktop and mobile. 24/7 access to over 16,000 business, design, & technology courses to help you achieve your personal and professional goals.
New Zealand Herald Online (On campus access only) This link opens in a new window
Get the latest breaking news, analysis and opinion from NZ and around the world, including politics, business, sport, entertainment, travel and more. Includes free access to premium pay for view articles. Follow the instructions to set up an account. Accessible only on campus.
O'Reilly eBooks (Formerly Safari Books Online) This link opens in a new window
Access to tens of thousands of online books, videos, and case studies on technology and business topics. From cloud computing to public speaking to web development
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations and case studies. Choose to filter your search by clicking on the "Books" tab to find only ebooks on your topic.