Finding Journal Articles
There are three main ways to find the articles you need:
- Search Ara Library databases for articles on your subject. (Use this method to find your own articles for an assignment).
- Look for a particular article from a recommended reading list. (Use this method if you have a reading list with the details of an article, e.g. author, article/journal title).
Journals
To view details of all our electronic journal subscriptions and find out which databases index them, use the Journal Titles List.
The eJournal Technical Communication provides access to full text articles from 1995 onwards through IngentaConnect.
The eJournal Technical Communication Quarterly (TCQ) is available in full text from 1993 onwards but does have an 18 month embargo on the most recent content in Engineering Source.
The eJournal Intercom is indexed in Business Source Complete and Engineering Source but full text is only available until 2005. On Moodle, your tutors can link you to selected recent articles from Intercom thanks to a special agreement with the publisher.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a good place to look if you can be specific about what you need.
Recommended Databases
Try searching some of these databases for articles on your subject.
For more options, go to All Databases.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. This database covers engineering, language and linguistics, education, history, arts and literature, biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion and theology - Art & Architecture Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide variety of subjects, including antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design. - Art Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for art information, covering fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture - Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text leading Australia/New Zealand magazines, and newspapers, including the Australian Financial Review. Also contains local biographies, reference books, and an image and video collection. - Engineering Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of engineering. Includes articles relating to technical communication and web design. - Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals. This comprehensive resource covers all subject areas. - Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media This link opens in a new window
Focuses on all aspects of the communications field: key subjects covered include advertising and public relations, linguistics, and literature. - ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations and case studies. Choose to filter your search by clicking on the "Books" tab to find only ebooks on your topic. - O'Reilly Ebooks (Formerly Safari Books Online) This link opens in a new window
Safari Books Online was create to "make the best technology books and videos from leading authors and publishers available to professionals at any stage of their career." - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Good general science database. Includes content on web design and usability.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Start here for definitions of key terms and background information.
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
The online version of the famous and trustworthy encyclopedia. Contains articles, images, videos, biographies, statistics, and an interactive atlas. Great source of primary sources. - Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides 24/7 access to top titles covering the most studied subject areas - Oxford Art Online (OUP) This link opens in a new windowAll forms of fine art and artists including NZ and Pacific content.
- Oxford English Dictionary (OUP) This link opens in a new windowThe Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language.
