Subject Guides: Massage Therapy: Articles / Databases

Finding Journal Articles

There are three main ways to find the articles you need:

Search Ara Library databases for articles on your subject. (Use this method to find your own articles for an assignment).
- Find an article in a database [PDF] [Video]

Look for a particular article from a recommended reading list. (Use this method if you have a reading list with the details of an article, e.g. author, article/journal title).
- Find an article in my reading list [PDF] [Video]

Use Google Scholar to find articles in Ara databases. (Use this method to find open access scholarly articles as well as articles in some Ara databases).
- Using Google Scholar to find articles in Ara databases [PDF] [Video]

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a good alternative place to look for academic articles.

Image: Pixabay

Recommended databases

All databases

We subscribe to over 60 different databases ranging from online encyclopedias and dictionaries to industry relevant resources. Below are the ones thought most relevant to your course:

Australia / New Zealand Reference Centre Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text AU/NZ magazines, and newspapers, including the Australian Financial Review. Also contains local biographies, reference books, and an image and video collection.
CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL stands for Cumulative Index of Nursing & Allied Health Literature. It provides the largest database of content on nursing and allied health subjects including Evidence-based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons for overviews of major topics e.g. diabetes.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, dissertations and case studies. Choose to filter your search by clicking on the "Books" tab to find only ebooks on your topic.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Includes selected health & life science, as well as physical science titles.
Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Explore human anatomy by manipulating 3D models by zooming, rotating, and pulling them apart. Accompanied by reference and periodical material.
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.
Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
Authoritative information from earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography.
Gale Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window
Provides information on a full range of health-related issue, including in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices.
eTV This link opens in a new window
eTV records and archives TV programmes for educational purposes. Use your Ara email address to activate the access to eTV. Tutors may embed eTV programmes within course pages.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
The online version of the famous and trustworthy encyclopedia. Contains articles, images, videos, biographies, statistics, and an interactive atlas. Great source of primary sources.